Aloe Blacc, Kid Cudi, Skylar Grey Featured on 'Need for Speed' Soundtrack

"Need for Speed"

The film adaptation of Electronic Arts' most successful video game franchise stars Aaron Paul in his first feature since wrapping "Breaking Bad."

Need for Speed will be racing into theaters this month to the sounds of Aloe Blacc, Kid Cudi, Skylar Grey and Jamie N. Commons, The Hollywood Reporter has confirmed.

VIDEO: 'Need for Speed' Super Bowl Spot: Aaron Paul Races for His Life

The film adaptation of the Electronic Arts' video game stars Aaron Paul,in his post-Breaking Bad feature, as a mechanic-turned-street racer who was double crossed from a crime he didn't commit, and is out to avenge the death of his friend. To do so, he needs to get across the country -- fast -- with cops and bad guys on his tail.

Music supervisors Gabe Hilfer and Season Kent, who also produced the Interscope Records soundtrack alongside Anthony Seyler, commissioned an original track called "Hero" from Cudi, who also stars in the film (under his real name, Scott Mescudi), and Grey. The potential EP release also includes Blacc's covers of Creedence Clearwater Revival's "Fortunate Son" and Aerosmith's "Back in the Saddle," while British folk rocker Commons introduces his rendition of Bob Dylan's "All Along the Watchtower."

Need for Speed also stars Dominic Cooper, Imogen Poots and Michael Keaton. Scott Waugh (Act of Valor) directed the DreamWorks action film that features George Gatins' written screenplay, developed from an original story with his brother John Gatins and is based on the entire series, rather than one of the individual games. Now labeled as EA's biggest franchise, the games have sold more than 140 million units worldwide. Nathan Furst is scoring the film.

VIDEO: 'Need for Speed' Driving School Featurette

Kid Cudi appears courtesy of Republic Records, Blacc appears courtesy of XIX Recordings/LLC Interscope, and Jamie N. Commons and Skylar Grey appear courtesy of KIDinaKORNER/Interscope.

Currently available for pre-order on Amazon, the Need for Speed soundtrack hits shelves on March 11, ahead of the film's theatrical release on March 14.

Need for Speed track list:

Aloe Blacc: "Fortunate Son"
Jamie N. Commons: "All Along the Watchtower" (Alex Da Kid Remix)
Aloe Blacc: "Back in the Saddle"
Kid Cudi and Skylar Grey: "Hero"

Twitter: @cashleelee