Neil Patrick Harris, Conan O'Brien Win Shorty Awards for Twitter Use

Neil Patrick Harris

Kiefer Sutherland and Jim Gaffigan were among those attending the ceremony, which honor Twitter users' "entire body of work, not just an individual tweet."

Neil Patrick Harris and Conan O'Brien were among the honorees Monday night at the third annual Shorty Awards, which honor Twitter users' "entire body of work, not just an individual tweet," according to the awards official website.

Harris was named the best actor using social media and submitted a video acceptance: "Wow! I won. I don't know where to begin. Do I thank a long list of names? No. I will speak from the heart I want to say I am deeply ap" and then cut himself off -- a joke to staying within the 140-character limit, according to
The so-called Lifetime Achievement Shorty Award went to O'Brien, who joined Twitter in February 2010. O’Brien submitted an acceptance video in which he began reading from Robert A. Caro's Pulitzer Prize-winning Robert Moses biography The Power Broker.
Castle's Stana Katic was named best actress using social media, while the Jonas Brothers won the award in the music category.
Newark Mayor Cory Booker won for government, beating out nominees including President Barack Obama.
Among the celebrities in attendance were Kiefer Sutherland and Jim Gaffigan, who are starring in the Broadway revival of That Championship Season, and husband-and-wife Jerry Stiller and Anne Meara.
Nominees are nominated by Twitter users, and a large number were nominated in each category; for example, the actor category included 1,163 nominees, while the actress division had 1,408 competitors.
For a complete list of winners, visit the Shorty Awards' website