Neil Young's 'Le Noise' due Sept. 28

Project is a collaboration with U2 producer Daniel Lanois

NEW YORK -- Neil Young has announced the release of new solo album "Le Noise," due out Sept. 28 on Reprise Records. The eight-song follow-up to 2009's "Fork in the Road" is a stripped-down collaboration with Grammy-winning producer Daniel Lanois (U2, Bob Dylan).

Recorded in Lanois' Los Angeles home, "Le Noise" features Young on acoustic and electric guitar with no backing band or overdubs. "Neil was so appreciative of the sonics that we presented to him," says Lanois, adding that the pair had "taken the acoustic guitar to a new level."

"Le Noise" will be issued as a standard CD, vinyl, digital download and as a deluxe CD/DVD set. The DVD portion, which showcases Young performing each of the album's eight songs, will also be released as a Blu-Ray in November.

Here is the tracklist for "Le Noise":

"Walk With Me"
"Sign of Love"
"Rescue Me"
"Love and War"
"Angry World"
"Peaceful Valley Blvd."