Netflix Set to Expand in Six More European Countries

"Orange is the New Black"

The streaming service will launch in Germany, Austria, Switzerland, France, Belgium and Luxembourg later this year, it was announced on Tuesday.

Netflix will launch in six European countries by the end of 2014. 

The expansion will extend the streaming service to France, Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Belgium and Luxembourg, it was announced in an email statement to The Hollywood Reporter on Tuesday.

STORY: Netflix's 'Orange Is the New Black' Renewed for Third Season

As with the U.S. service, broadband users in these countries can subscribe to Netflix and instantly watch the curated selection of Hollywood, local and global TV series and movies, along with Netflix original series such as Orange is the New Black on TVs, computers and digital devices.

Neflix is already available in 40 countries and has 48 million members worldwide. The latest European expansion follows launches in the U.K., Ireland, Denmark, Finland, Norway, Sweden in 2012 and the Netherlands in 2013. 

PHOTOS: From 'Arrested Development' to 'House of Cards,' Exclusive Portraits of Netflix's Stars

The company will be competing with other video streaming services, including Canal Play Infinity from Vivendi's Canal Plus in France, and Inc's Prime Instant Video in Germany.

Netflix announced earlier this month that it will raise prices in the U.S. by a dollar. 

In an email to subscribers, the company revealed that the price of its streaming plan would increase from $7.99 a month to $8.99 a month for new members. Existing subscribers will be able to continue to pay the same price for their streaming plan for two years, the email added.