New king of BMI pop nods


Songwriter-producer Polow Da Don earned his first nod as songwriter of the year Tuesday at the 56th annual BMI Pop Awards, which honor the year's most-performed pop songs.

Hinder picked up song of the year for "Lips of an Angel" during the ceremony at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel in Los Angeles, and EMI-Blackwood Music won for publisher of the year. Other multiple winners included Nickelback, Christina Aguilera, Fall Out Boy, Snoop Dogg and Universal Music Publishing Group.

Polow Da Don's songwriter of the year honor stems from four songs he penned among 2007's top 50: the Pussycat Dolls' "Buttons," featuring Snoop Dogg; Fergie's "London Bridge" and "Glamorous," featuring Ludacris; and Ludacris' "Runaway Love," featuring Mary J. Blige.

"Lips of an Angel" — co-written by Hinder members Joe "Blower" Garvey, Cody Hanson, Mark King, Michael Rodden and Austin Winkler with producer Brian Howes — also earned a second BMI Award as Internet song of the year.

EMI-Blackwood Music claimed publisher of the year kudos with 14 award-winning songs, including "Lips," "Glamorous," "Break It Off" (by Rihanna featuring Sean Paul) and "Hurt" (Christina Aguilera).

Hall & Oates were saluted as Icon lifetime achievement honorees during a lively musical tribute that included by Fall Out Boy's Patrick Stump on "Rich Girl" and Kenneth "Babyface" Edmonds doing "Sara Smile." Hall & Oates then took to the stage for energetic renditions of their hits "You Make My Dreams," "I Can't Go for That (No Can Do)," "Maneater" and "She's Gone."

The evening's hosts were BMI's Del Bryant and Barbara Cane.

Gail Mitchell is a senior correspondent for Billboard.