NYTVF Announces Winners of 19 Development Deals

Networks and studios including FOX, A&E, MTV and Hasbro partnered with the fest to work with aspiring TV creators.

Dozens of aspiring television creators are getting a shot at practicing their crafts on the next level.

The eight annual New York Television Festival wrapped Saturday night by announcing the recipients of 19 development deals from networks, studios and digital partners including FOX, A&E, MTV and Hasbro Studios. 

Among the judges were The Hollywood Reporter's Chief TV Critic, Tim Goodman.

Festival organizers say they were pleased with participation in its 2012 development initiative. Three hundred independent TV creators mingled with influential people from the industry during the weeklong fest, which ran from Oct. 22-Oct. 27.

PHOTOS: Tim Goodman Gives the Odds on Which Fall Shows Will Survive 

“It's been a banner year for the organization and we are indebted to our terrific partners and extremely talented creative community for their commitment to the independent television movement,” said NYTVF Founder and Executive Director Terence Gray in a statement.

The winners join the previously announced victors in the Comedy Central Short Pilot competition, with the $7,500 development deal with the network going to The Venue, created by Kevin Fleming, Al Samuels, Steven Fleming, and Katie Nahnsen.

Find the rest of the winners below. (Descriptions of the competitions were provided by NYTVF.)


In 2012, the second installment of this initiative welcomed back inaugural Pitch Partners, Sundance Channel and Red Arrow International, along with new additions BIO Channel, Channel 4, Hasbro Studios, Logo and truTV. Each partner provided a creative brief, which was shared with NYTVF's Official Artists. Artists were invited to submit specific pitches for each partner and the top ideas were identified by the NYTVF for the chance to pitch during the Festival.

Each Pitch Partner guaranteed one development deal for an artist participating in NYTVF Pitch, with the following coming out on top:

- Sundance Channel: I Want A New Life created by Stephen Soroka and Will Bozarth (New York, NY)

- Red Arrow International: Barely Legal created by Kynan Griffin and Jason Faller (Provo, UT)

- BIO Channel: Para-Not-So-Normal created by Nick Armstrong and Trevor Tevel (Los Angeles, CA)

- Channel 4: Celebrities Solving Crimes created by Melge Media (Brooklyn, NY)

- Hasbro Studios: Buckle and Swash created by Sarah Courtauld (London, UK)

- Logo: Burly Q's created by Carrie Preston and Daisy 3 Pictures (New York, NY)

- truTV: Lords of the Land: NYC created by Frank Mosca (City Island, NY)

PHOTOS: The 100 Fresh Faces of Fall TV 

FOX-NYTVF Comedy Script Contest

For the fifth consecutive year, FOX partnered with the NYTVF on the annual FOX-NYTVF Comedy Script Contest, inviting aspiring television writers to enter their scripts for original half-hour comedy TV pilots for the opportunity to win $25,000 and a development deal with the network. Twenty-five finalists were selected to be evaluated by FOX, and the winner is:

- Here to Stay from Andrew Shafer (New York, NY)

A&E and Lifetime Unscripted Development Pipelines

Launched in 2011 with A&E, and re-upped in 2012 with A&E and the addition of Lifetime, these programs sought original unscripted television concepts (including a short video and treatment) focused on individuals or small groups that represent unique points of view for each network. In each initiative, five finalists are selected from a field of 25 semi-finalists with each of the five receiving notes on their projects from the respective network's development executives as well as a cash prize of $2,500. Finalists also receive $1,500 to shoot additional tape to further enhance their projects for a shot at the $10,000 prize and the opportunity to participate in the production of a pilot presentation with the network.

The winner of the second-annual A&E Unscripted Development Pipeline, which was selected from the five finalists announced earlier this year:  

- Private Eyes (originally titled Deadbeats) from Frank Mosca, John Morena, Stephen Franciosa Jr., and Vinny Parco (New York, NY)

Finalists in the Lifetime Unscripted Development Pipeline:

- American Bombshells from Steven Ryan (New York, NY)

- Cake Lush to the Stars from Cee French Harth, Paul Harth and Jeff Schubert (New York, NY)

- Comediennes from Tim Paul (Chicago, IL)

- Junk Mom from Pat Taggart (Philadelphia, PA)

- Ladies on the Loose from Jenn Dlugos and Andrea Henry (Boston, MA)

2012 Independent Pilot Competition (IPC) Sponsored Awards

- IFC “Out of the Box” Award: Hamsters from Damian Lanigan (Brooklyn, NY)

- MTV Comedy Development Deal: Galaxy Comics from Kevin McMullin and Jacey Heldrich (New York, NY)

- Syfy “Imagine Greater” Award: Time Trials from Lee Jordan and Clay Lapari (Los Angeles, CA)

- VH1 “Theory of Creativity” Award: Actors Anonymous from René Ashton (Studio City, CA)

- Amazon Studios Audience Award: Captain Cornelius Cartoon's Cartoon Lagoon from Manny Galán (New York, NY)

Additional IPC Award Winners

- NYTVF Critics Award: Shrink from Ted Tremper (Chicago, IL)

- Best Comedy Pilot: Shrink from Ted Tremper (Chicago, IL)

- Best Drama or Dramedy Pilot: Books from Joe Webb (Los Angeles, CA)

- Best Animation Pilot: Pockets Universe from John Cantlie and Edmond Melnychuk (Richmond, BC)

- Best Web Series Pilot: Lovin' Lakin from Dave Mahanes and Christine Lakin (Los Angeles, CA)

- Best Nonscripted Pilot: Newton's Law from Sean O'Riordan (London, UK)

- Best Actress: Zandy Hartig in American Viral (New York, NY)

- Best Actor: Jonathan Pessin in In Session with Jonathan Pessin (Los Angeles, CA)

- Nonscripted Character or Host: Alec Pinkston in How to Get Lost (Chicago, IL)

- Best Directing: (tie) Kevin McMullin for Galaxy Comics (New York, NY) and John Lyde for The Shadow Cabal (Provo, UT)

- Best Writing: Scott Eckert, Chris Grace, Rich Hollman, Chris O'Brien, and Nate Williams for Actualized (New York, NY)

Descriptions and trailers for these and all IPC selections can be found here.

Samsung Second Screen Storytellers Challenge

On Friday, Samsung and the NYTVF announced the winner of the first-ever Samsung Second Screen Storytellers Challenge during the Samsung-sponsored live pitch event featuring the five finalists.

- D-TEC from Joseph Saroufim, Peter Saroufim, and Stephen Interrante (Los Angeles, CA)