New York TV Festival Unveils Winners of 20 Development Deals

The festival partnered with A&E, Channel 4, Comedy Central, Conde Nast Entertainment and many others to provide opportunities for rising talent

This has been a very good weekend for dozens of aspiring TV creators. 

The tenth annual New York Television Festival closed Saturday, with 20 winners announced as the recipients of development deals with networks, studios and digital outlets. The festival doled out 32 deals in total this year.

House of Cards showrunner Beau Willimon delivered the keynote address, while John Mulaney and Nasim Pedrad took part in a Mulaney event.

"We had a fantastic week with more events, projects, deals and overall artist and industry participation than ever before. It was a terrific way to celebrate our tenth Festival,” said NYTVF founder and executive director Terence Gray. "By drawing thousands of submissions annually, we continue to attract the best talent, and connect them with our development partners who over the years have guaranteed indie TV artists more than 100 development deals and counting."

Among the prizes this year were direct-to-series deals from The Orchard and Travel Channel/ULIVE.

See more Inside THR's Power Showrunners 2014 Luncheon With Carlton Cuse, David Milch and Matthew Weiner

The full list of winners can be seen below. (NYTVF provided the descriptions of the awards.)

History Unscripted Development Pipeline Winner

- Gary Simson and Andrew Giacometti for their project Wreck Hunters (Los Angeles, CA)

A&E Unscripted Development Pipeline Winner

- Eric Kutner for his project Risk (New York, NY)

Lifetime Unscripted Development Pipeline Finalists (winner to be announced later):

- Nathan Stoll for his project Can't Knock The Hustle (New York, NY)

- Ryan Basham for his project Doctor Diva (Los Angeles, CA)

- Kate Hendricks for her project Kate the Wasp (New York, NY)

- Mark Haapala and Stewart Gold for their project Pinky & The Fan Girls (Los Angeles, CA)

- Terri Lee Ryan for her project Rori’s Party (Chicago, IL)

Festival Development Awards

- Comedy Central: Caroline Fox and Daniel Obzejta for This Old Thing (Los Angeles, CA)

- Lionsgate/Sea to Sky – Channel 4 Drama Co-Development Award: Ben Snyder and Ari Issler for The Come Up (Brooklyn, NY)

- The Orchard GO Project: Jim Kozyra for The Jamz (Chicago, IL)

NYTVF Pitch Awards


- Channel 4: Nicole Paglia and Daniel Brierley (London, UK)

- Conde Nast Entertainment: Ramiro Castro Jr. and Pedro Castro (Los Angeles, CA)

- FremantleMedia/Tiny Riot!: Sutton Dewey and Mark Millner (Brooklyn, NY)

- FYI: James Spokoini & Massimiliano Bulgheroni (London, UK)

- H2: Carrie Preston and Kate Rigg (New York, NY)

- Investigation Discovery: Nicole Paglia and Daniel Brierley (London, UK)

- National Geographic Channels: Steve Sera, Tim Egan, and Bob Sylvester (Boston, MA)

- Red Arrow Entertainment:  Jessica Coleman (Sicklerville, NJ)

- SundanceTV: David Harris (Los Angeles, CA)

- Travel Channel and ULIVE: Jim Kozyra and Chris Petlak (Chicago, IL)

- truTV: Greg Ash (London, UK)

- WEtv: Dan Berk and Robert Olsen (Brooklyn, NY)

In addition to the above, the FOX-NYTVF Comedy Alumni Program,Lifetime Unscripted Development Pipeline and MTV development deal winners will be announced later this year.

2014 Independent Pilot Competition Winners 

Finally, the 10th annual New York Television Festival wrapped up with winners of its flagship Independent Pilot Competition being announced across the following 12 categories:

- Best Animation Pilot: Future Duck! created by Henry Dalton and Paul Cope (London, UK)

- Best Comedy Pilot: Cowards created by Daniel Clark, Megan Green, Joe Kwaczala, Joe McAdam and Chris Stephens (Los Angeles, CA)

- Best Drama or Dramedy Pilot: Dispatch created by Dan Berk and Robert Olsen (Brooklyn, NY)

- Best Short-Form Web Series: Annie Undocumented created by Daniel Hsia, Elaine Low, and Brian Yang (Los Angeles, CA)

- Best Unscripted Pilot: Love Spitters created by Rich Seng and Nicholas Charles Peters (Chicago, IL)

- Best Actress: Caroline Fox for This Old Thing (Los Angeles, CA)

- Best Actor: Chris Mast for Go, Bolivia, Go! (Los Angeles, CA)

- Best Director: David Eisenberg for Witnesses (Queens, NY)

- Best Editor: Matt VanDaniker for The Neighborhood (Queens, NY)

- Best Writing: Trouble written by Sean Skelton (New York, NY)

- NYTVF Critics Award: Witnesses created by David Eisenberg and Jon Higgins (Queens, NY)

- NYTVF Audience Award: The Neighborhood created by James Manzello and Matt Pavich (Queens, NY)

- NYTVF “Best of the Fest”: Dispatch created by Dan Berk and Robert Olsen (Brooklyn, NY)

Descriptions and trailers for these and all IPC selections can be found at: