news digest


'Vivere,' 'Hotel' among early Tribeca pickups

NEW YORK — Here! Films and Koch Lorber Films have scored two of the first acquisitions from films premiering in competition at the Tribeca Film Festival. Here! nabbed North American distribution rights to the German drama "Vivere," which had its world premiere Thursday in Tribeca's World Narrative competition. Here! sister company Regent Releasing will distribute the film theatrically this year. Koch Lorber acquired U.S. rights to the Israeli/Palestinian border-patrol docu "9 Star Hotel," which had its U.S. premiere Saturday at Tribeca as part of the World Documentary competition. The "Vivere" deal was negotiated by Here! executive vp acquisitions and distribution Mark Reinhart with Media Luna's Ida Martins. The "Hotel" deal was negotiated by Koch Lorber president Richard Lorber with Edna Kowarsky and Elinor Kowarksy on behalf of Eden Prods.

Treadway is answer for 'Crosswords'

Ty Treadway, best known for his role on ABC's "One Life to Live" and for co-hosting SoapNet's "Soap Talk," has been tapped to host the upcoming syndicated game show "Let's Play Crosswords." In addition, Brennan Huntington — who has produced, directed and/or developed programming for such networks as ESPN, MTV, VH1, NBC and E! — has been named showrunner of the half-hour strip, from Program Partners and Merv Griffin Entertainment. "Crosswords," set for a September launch, has been cleared in 30 of the top 40 markets.

Casgrain will take over as CBC chair

TORONTO — The Canadian government has named veteran business executive Timothy Casgrain chairman of the Canadian Broadcasting Corp. Casgrain, the Montreal-based chairman of aviation company Skyservice Investments, will replace Guy Fournier, who quit as the public broadcaster's chairman in September.

AMPAS panel heading to Vietnam

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is sending a delegation to Vietnam to participate in the country's inaugural American Film Week beginning Thursday. The group — comprising cinematographer Emmanuel Lubezki, documentary filmmaker Freida Lee Mock, producers William Horberg and Tom Pollock, writer-directors Susannah Grant and Phil Robinson and writer-director-producer Curtis Hanson — were invited by the Vietnam Cinema Department, the country's national coordinating body for the domestic and international film industry.

20 to take home Rockefeller fellowships

Twenty emerging filmmakers and artists will be awarded a total of $700,000 in cash awards at Renew Media's 20th anniversary celebration of the Rockefeller Foundation's Media Arts Fellowships. At a ceremony set for Tuesday at the American Academy of Art in New York, two additional fellowships of $10,000 each will be given to new film and video artists.

Three awarded All Access at Tribeca

Ben Rekhi won the narrative section prize at the Tribeca All Access Awards, announced Saturday, for his screenplay "Waste," co-written with John Campo. The documentary prize went to Dee Rees for her work-in-progess "Eventual Salvation," while Marilyn Fu took the screenwriting prize for "Sisterhood of the Night, which Caryn Waechter is attached to direct. The TAA program is designed to foster relationships between filmmakers from underrepresented communities and film industry executives.