news digest


ASC fetes Burum

Stephen H. Burum will receive the American Society of Cinematographers 2008 Lifetime Achievement Award, which will be presented Jan. 26 at the 22nd annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards at the Grand Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland. Burum earned an ASC Outstanding Achievement Award and an Oscar nomination for 1993's "Hoffa."

Four prized at HFF

Ben Affleck and Jennifer Connelly and "Hairspray" producers Neil Meron and Craig Zadan have joined the roster of talent to be honored Oct. 22 at the 11th annual Hollywood Film Festival and Hollywood Awards Gala Ceremony at the Beverly Hilton.

Duo Flanders' lifers

Director Walter Hill and "Zorba the Greek" composer Mikis Theodorakis will receive lifetime achievement awards next month at the Flanders Film Festival in Ghent, Belgium. Hill will receive the Joseph Plateau Award. Theodorakis has written more than 1,000 musical compositions. The fest runs Oct. 9-20.

Bates' int'l honor

The International Press Academy will honor Kathy Bates with the Mary Pickford Award for artistic contribution to the entertainment industry at its 12th annual Satellite Awards on Dec. 16.

Elle hosts tribute

Fashion magazine Elle, taking over the franchise created by the late Premiere magazine, will host the 14th annual Women in Hollywood Tribute on Oct. 15 at the Four Seasons in Beverly Hills. Honorees are Lauren Bacall, Scarlett Johansson, Diane Lane, Kate Bosworth, Jennifer Connelly, Amy Adams and Julie Taymor.