NHL Awards Winners to Be Televised During Stanley Cup Final

Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
Harry How/Getty Images

Undoubtedly the most popular and recognizable player in the NHL today, Sidney Crosby has the same kind of appeal as Will Smith: They deliver every time. This Pittsburgh Penguins forward and team captain is a Stanley Cup winner and a gold medalist with Team Canada in the 2010 Olympics. He's also been voted league MVP two times and has led the NHL in scoring twice. Hockey legend Wayne Gretzky predicted Crosby's future when he was just 15, and this stylish skater has lived up to all the hype.

The league’s top players, coaches and execs will be honored during two TV specials via NBC Sports Group, CBC’s Hockey Night In Canada and NHL Network.

The National Hockey League and National Hockey League Players’ Association will honor the top players, coaches and executives of the current NHL season during two televised specials, it was announced on Friday.

In collaboration with NBC Sports Group, CBC’s Hockey Night in Canada and NHL Network, as well as NHL.com, the 2013 NHL Awards will be broadcast in conjunction with the Stanley Cup Final.

PHOTOS: Sporty Style: The 10 Most Fashionable NHL Players

First, on the eve of Game 2 of the Finals, the NHL Network will televise the announcement of the winners of the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, Frank J. Selke Trophy, Jack Adams Award, King Clancy Memorial Trophy, Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award, NHL Foundation Player award and NHL General Manager of the Year Award. The live event, hosted by NHL Network personalities and produced on location from the Finals, airs at 5 p.m. ET and will also be streamed online at NHL.com.

As a lead in to Game 2 of the Finals, NBC and CBC will co-produce and co-host an hour-long telecast live from the location of the game, announcing the winners of the Calder Memorial Trophy, Hart Memorial Trophy, James Norris Memorial Trophy, Ted Lindsay Award and Vezina Trophy. The program -- airing at 7 p.m. ET -- will feature hosts and hockey analysts from both networks and will simultaneously be streamed online at cbcsports.ca.

PHOTOS: The Best (and Worst) Hockey Movies: 'Miracle,' 'Slap Shot' and 'Mighty Ducks'

This year’s celebration is a change from years past, when the NHL Awards broadcast live from Las Vegas, where the sport’s biggest names would mix and mingle with Hollywood royalty. The NHL Awards will return to Las Vegas next year, a press release notes.

Below, find the 2013 NHL Awards finalists in alphabetical order.

BILL MASTERTON MEMORIAL TROPHY (Perseverance and dedication to hockey)

Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins

Josh Harding, Minnesota Wild

Adam McQuaid, Boston Bruins



Brendan Gallagher, Montreal Canadiens

Jonathan Huberdeau, Florida Panthers

Brandon Saad, Chicago Blackhawks


FRANK J. SELKE TROPHY (Top defensive forward)

Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins

Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings

Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks 


HART MEMORIAL TROPHY (Most valuable player to his team) 

Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins

Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals

John Tavares, New York Islanders 


JACK ADAMS AWARD (Top head coach)

Bruce Boudreau, Anaheim Ducks

Paul MacLean, Ottawa Senators

Joel Quenneville, Chicago Blackhawks 



Kris Letang, Pittsburgh Penguins

P.K. Subban, Montreal Canadiens

Ryan Suter, Minnesota Wild


LADY BYNG MEMORIAL TROPHY (Best sportsmanship, gentlemanly conduct and ability)

Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks

Matt Moulson, New York Islanders

Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning 



Daniel Alfredsson, Ottawa Senators

Dustin Brown, Los Angeles Kings

Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks



Marc Bergevin, Montreal Canadiens

Bob Murray, Anaheim Ducks

Ray Shero, Pittsburgh Penguins


TED LINDSAY AWARD (Most outstanding player as voted by members of the NHLPA)

Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins

Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals

Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning 


VEZINA TROPHY (Top goaltender)

Sergei Bobrovsky, Columbus Blue Jackets

Henrik Lundqvist, New York Rangers

Antti Niemi, San Jose Sharks