'Niñato' Wins Buenos Aires Film Festival

Ninato Still - H 2017 Promo
Courtesy of Buenos Aires Film Festival

Clara Simon took home the best director award for 'Summer 1993.'

Adrian Orr's Niñato topped the 19th edition of the Buenos Aires Film Festival (BAFICI), which announced on Saturday the awards of its five competitions. The Spanish film, which premiered at the Visions du Réel film festival, depicts a young unemployed single father and occasional rapper who takes care of his child while living with with his parents.

Spain's independent cinema was a big winner at BAFICI: Barcelona-born Carla Simón won best director honors for her debut feature Summer 1993, while the Avant Garde and Genre competition delivered a special mention for Galician filmmaker Oliver Laxe's Mimosas and a shared best short film award for Chema García Ibarra's The Disco Shines and Velasco Broca's Our Friend the Moon. The section was topped by Vladimir Duran's Argentine-Colombian film So Long Enthusiasm.

Kiro Russo's Cartagena winner Dark Skull, a stunning drama set in a mining community in Bolivia, won the special jury prize, while Brazil's Araby, directed by Affonso Uchôa and Joao Dumans, won a special mention.

Chielan actress Daniela Castillo was named best actress for her lead in Pelayo Lira's Kingdoms, an intense love story between two college students in Santiago de Chile. The mostly-female cast of Today Match at 3, an Argentine-Paraguayan comedy set in an amateur soccer tournament, received the nod for best performance by an ensemble cast.

A favorite among local critics, Alejo Moguillansky's The Little Match Girl topped the local competition. A regular in BAFICI, Moguillansky previously won the same competition with his 2009 film Castro. The best director award in that section went to Toia Bonino for the crime-doc Orione, while Rodrigo Moreno's depiction of a small town Provincial City won a special mention.

The 19th edition of BAFICI closes on Sunday after featuring more than 400 films and a guest list that included Italian filmmaker Nanni Moretti (Mia Madre), Claude Barras (Oscar-nominated My Life as a Zucchini), Alex Ross Perry (Golden Exits), Lucrecia Martel (Zama), and Locarno winner Denis Côté (Boris Without Béatrice), among others.

The official awards are listed below:


Best film: Niñato Adrián Orr
Special jury prize: Dark Skull Kiro Russo
Best director: Carla Simón – (Summer 1993)
Best actor: Daniela Castillo (Kingdoms)
Best ensemble cast: Today Match at 3 Clarisa Navas
Special mention: Araby Affonso Uchôa, João Dumans


Best film: The Little Match Girl  Alejo Moguillansky
Best director: Toia Bonino Orione
Special mention: Provincial City – Rodrigo Moreno


Best film: So Long Enthusiasm – Vladimir Duran
Grand prize: Ceux qui font les révolutions à moitie n'ont fait que se creuser un tombeau – Mathieu Denis, Simon Lavoie
Best short film (ex aequo): The Disco Shines Chema García Ibarra; Our Friend the Moon Velasco Broca


Best film: The City of the Future Cláudio Marques, Marília Hughes
Best director: Javier Izquierdo A Secret in the Box


Best film: Tonsler Park  Kevin Jerome Everson 
Special mention: Adriana's Pact Lissette Orozco