Gotham Awards: Nicole Kidman, Ed Lachman Join Honorees

Nicole Kidman - Glamour Women of The Year awards 2017 -Getty-H 2017
Jeff Spicer/Getty Images

The pair will be recognized alongside previously announced tribute recipients Al Gore and Jason Blum.

The Gotham Awards have added Nicole Kidman and cinematographer Ed Lachman to their list of tribute honorees for this year's ceremony.

Oscar winner and Emmy nominee Kidman will receive the actress tribute and Lachman, an Oscar and Emmy nominee, will receive the cinematographer tribute. The two join former former Vice President Al Gore and Blumhouse founder Jason Blum as this year's tribute recipients at the annual independent film awards.

Kidman recently appeared on the big screen in Sofia Coppola's gender-bending remake of The Beguiled and will next be seen in A24's The Killing of a Sacred Deer, directed by Yorgos Lanthimos. She also stars alongside Bryan Cranston and Kevin Hart in The Weinstein Co.'s Untouchables remake The Upside.

Lachman has collaborated with directors including Coppola, Todd Haynes, Werner Herzog, Jean-Luc Godard, Wim Wenders, Volker Schlondorff, Ulrich Seidl, Paul Schrader, Steven Soderbergh, Robert Altman and Todd Solondz. He received an Emmy nomination for his work on Mildred Pierce and two Oscar nominations for Far From Heaven and Carol. Lachman will reteam with Haynes again on this fall's Wonderstruck.

“It is truly an honor to present Nicole Kidman with the actress tribute this year. Her choices in projects throughout her career have been bold and carefully selected, ranging from thought-provoking independent films and studio blockbusters to unique and original television series. She has consistently sought out roles of complex characters and delivered them with unforgettable, iconic performances that have unequivocally placed her amongst one of the greatest actresses of our lifetime. We are delighted to celebrate her lasting contributions to the art of film and television,” Joana Vicente, executive director of the Independent Filmmakers Project, which presents the Gotham Awards, and the Made in NY Media Center, said Wednesday in a statement. “Likewise, we are thrilled to present Ed Lachman with the cinematographer tribute. His creative contributions to independent films along with his collaborations with countless filmmakers are legendary. His talent to transform what viewers see onscreen is one of a kind and worthy of recognition.”

Additional tribute recipients will be announced in the coming weeks. Previous Gotham Award honorees include Oliver Stone, Amy Adams, Ethan Hawke, Arnon Milchan, Robert Redford, Helen Mirren, Todd Haynes, Steve Golin, Matt Damon, Natalie Portman, Charlize Theron, Kate Winslet, Bennett Miller, Richard Linklater, Spike Lee, David O. Russell, Ted Sarandos, Jeff Skoll, Tom Rothman, James Schamus and Bob and Harvey Weinstein.

The Gotham Awards traditionally mark the official start of Oscar season, recognizing the best in independent film. Recent previous winners have included Oscar nominees and winners Moonlight, Spotlight, Birdman, Boyhood, Citizenfour, Inside Llewyn Davis, The Act of Killing, Moonrise Kingdom, Beasts of the Southern Wild, Beginners, The Tree of Life, Winter’s Bone and The Hurt Locker.

Gotham Award nominations will be announced Oct. 19, with the awards to be handed out Nov. 27 at New York's Cipriani Wall Street.