'Night Before' Party Raises $5.2 Million to Benefit MPTF

Leonardo DiCaprio, Steven Spielberg and Jeffrey Katzenberg - Getty- H 2016
Todd Williamson/Getty Images

Among the attendees at the star-studded event, held Saturday night at Raleigh Studios in Los Angeles, were Leonardo DiCaprio, Sylvester Stallone, Kerry Washington and Alicia Vikander.

The annual "Night Before" party raised a total of $5.2 million on Saturday night to benefit the Motion Picture & Television Fund.

More than $70 million has been raised since the event, the brainchild of DreamWorks Animation CEO Jeffrey Katzenberg, was launched 14 years ago. Funds raised during the party — one of Hollywood's glitziest gatherings — are used to support MPTF, which assists elderly members of the Hollywood community.

The 2016 host committee included Amy Adams and Darren Le Gallo, Ben Affleck, Tanya Haden Black and Jack Black, Cate Blanchett and Andrew Upton, Kate Capshaw and Steven Spielberg, Jessica Chastain, Amal and George Clooney, Bradley Cooper, Tom Cruise, Luciana and Matt Damon, Viola Davis and Julius Tennon, Robin Dearden and Bryan Cranston, Jenna Dewan-Tatum and Channing Tatum, Leonardo DiCaprio, Deborra-Lee Furness and Hugh Jackman, Jake Gyllenhaal, Michael B. Jordan, Brie Larson, Julianne Moore and Bart Freundlich, Hannah and Eddie Redmayne, Sunrise and Mark Ruffalo, Jada Pinkett Smith and Will Smith, Octavia Spencer, Alicia Vikander, Pauletta and Denzel Washington, Rita Wilson and Tom Hanks, Kate Winslet, and Reese Witherspoon and Jim Toth.

Other guests at the bash included Lenny Abrahamson, Casey Affleck, Malin Akerman, Stephen Amell, Will Arnett, Kevin Bacon, Camilla Belle, Chadwick Boseman, Kate Bosworth, Zach Braff, Adrien Brody, Jerry Bruckheimer, Dana Brunetti, Mark Burnett, Jessica Capshaw, Mariah Carey, Dave Chappelle, Erika Christensen, Emilia Clarke, Common, James Corden, Loretta Devine, Nina Dobrev, Jay Duplass, Billy Eichner, Jon Favreau, James Franco, Morgan Freeman, Jeff Goldblum, Topher Grace, Judy Greer, Marcia Gay Harden, Tom Hooper, Alan Horn, Djimon Hounsou, Vanessa Hudgens, Josh Hutcherson, Sarah Hyland, Nick Jonas, Mindy Kaling, Megyn Kelly, Robert Kennedy Jr., Keegan-Michael Key, Jared Leto, Hamish Linklater, Ray Liotta, LL Cool J, Anthony Mackie, Kyle MacLachlan, Tom McCarthy, Kate McKinnon, Thomas Middleditch, Michelle Monaghan, Olivia Munn, Kumail Nanjiani, Christopher Nolan, Chris Noth, Bob Odenkirk, Jim Parsons, Emily Ratajkowski, Jeremy Renner, Jason Ritter, Anika Noni Rose, Meg Ryan, Kyra Sedgwick, Andy Serkis, J.K. Simmons, Alexander Skarsgard, Brittany Snow, Patrick Stewart, Julia Stiles, Marisa Tomei, Emily VanCamp and Vince Vaughn.

"As MPTF celebrates its 95th anniversary, the 'Night Before' shines a very bright spotlight on the incredible generosity of our community,” said Katzenberg, chairman of the MPTF Foundation. "We come together each year in the spirit of giving back to our own and are extremely grateful for the support 'Night Before' receives to make these efforts possible.”

Added MPTF Foundation CEO Ken Scherer: "There are simply not enough words to express our deepest appreciation for everyone who has come together to make this possible and continuing the legacy of 'caring for our own.'"

The Hollywood Reporter was a presenting sponsor of the event, held for the first time at Raleigh Studios in Los Angeles, along with Chrysler, Delta Air Lines, L'Oreal, MasterCard in support of Stand Up to Cancer and Target. 

The "Night Before," held annually the night before the Academy Awards, was produced for the 14th year by Robyn Leuthe Norris, with Silver Birches creating the decor. Carmelized Productions by Jon Shook & Vinny Dotolo provided specialty foods for those in attendance, while Lavazza provided its signature espresso.