'Nomadland' Named Best Picture by National Society of Film Critics

Venice Film Festival


Frances McDormand and Delroy Lindo were among the acting award winners on Saturday.

The National Society of Film Critics on Saturday named Nomadland as its best picture of 2020.

Nomadland's Chloe Zhao picked up a win for best director, while Frances McDormand won best actress for her performance in the drama film that explores the life of a nomad woman living in the American West.

Elsewhere in the acting categories, Delroy Lindo was recognized for his performance in Spike Lee's war drama Da 5 Bloods. Supporting actor wins were awarded to Maria Bakalova for Borat Subsequent Moviefilm and Paul Raci for Sound of Metal. Best screenplay went to Eliza Rittman for First Cow.

Founded in 1966 by Joe Morgenstern and headquartered in New York, the NSFC is comprised of over 60 top film critics from publications including The New Yorker, The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor and NPR.

Critic Justin Chang, who serves as chairman, tweeted the winners and runners-up live via the official @NatSocFilmCrix Twitter account.

This year marked the 55th annual voting meeting, which took place virtually amid the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. Typically, the meetings are held at New York's Film Society of Lincoln Center.

In prior years, Bong Joon Ho's class discrimination drama Parasite and Chloe Zhao's western drama The Rider have been honored by the NSFC.

View the list of 2020 winners below, which is being updated live.

Best picture: Nomadland
Runners up: First Cow
Never Rarely Sometimes Always

Best actor: Delroy Lindo, Da 5 Bloods
Runners up: Chadwick Boseman, Ma Rainey's Black Bottom
Riz Ahmed, Sound of Metal

Best actress: Frances McDormand, Nomadland
Runners up: Viola Davis, Ma Rainey's Black Bottom
Sidney Flanigan, Never Rarely Sometimes Always

Best supporting actress: Maria Bakalova, Borat Subsequent Moviefilm
Runners up: Amanda Seyfried, Mank
Youn Yuh-jung, Minari

Best supporting actor: Paul Raci, Sound of Metal
Runners up: Glynn Turman, Ma Rainey's Black Bottom
Chadwick Boseman, Da 5 Bloods

Best director: Chloe Zhao, Nomadland
Runners up: Steve McQueen, Small Axe
Kelly Reichardt, First Cow

Best screenplay: Eliza Hittman, Never Rarely Sometimes Always
Runners up: Jon Raymond and Kelly Reichardt, First Cow
Charlie Kaufman, I'm Thinking of Ending Things 

Best cinematography: Joshua James Richards, Nomadland
Runners up: Shabier Kirchner, Lovers Rock
Leonardo Simoes, Vitalina Varela

Best foreign language film: Collective
Runners up: Bacurau and Beanpole
Vitalina Varela

Best nonfiction film: Time
Runners up: City Hall

Film heritage award: Film Comment
Brattle Theatre in Cambridge, MA
Women Make Movies