'Nombre,' 'Precious' top Stockholm nods

Stars Edgar Flores, Mo'Nique receive festival's acting awards

STOCKHOLM, Sweden -- Sundance faves "Sin Nombre" and "Precious: Based on the Novel 'Push' by Sapphire" scooped the bulk of awards at the 20th Stockholm Film Festival, which wrapped up Sunday.

Mo'Nique won best actress for her powerful turn as an abusive mother in Lee Daniels' "Precious," a performance that has already put the actress on many handicappers' Oscar shortlist.

Cary Fukunaga's "Sin Nombre" picked up three of Stockholm's silver horse trophies: best actor for star Edgar Flores, best first feature film and the Fipresci International Film Critics Prize for best film.

"Now my professors will have to give me a good grade," Fukunaga joked, a reference to the fact that the feature, a story of Honduran immigrants trying to reach the U.S., was his film school graduating thesis.

More awards coverage  

But the 2009 Golden Horse for best feature film went to "Dogtooth," a surreal look at a dysfunctional family from Greek director Yorgos Lanthimos. "Dogtooth" has proved a favorite on the festival circuit. After winning the Un Certain Regard prize in Cannes, it picked up trophies in Montreal, Sarajevo and the Sitges Calalonian fests.

The Silver Audience Award went to the documentary "The Cove" from director Louie Psihoyos.

A complete list of 2009 Stockholm Film Festival winners can be found on the next page.

20th Stockholm Film Festival award winners

Best Film
"Dogtooth" dir. Yorgos Lanthimos

Best Actress
Mo'Nique for "Precious: Based on the Novel 'Push' by Sapphire"

Best Actor
Edgar Flores for "Sin Nombre"

Best First Feature
"Sin Nombre" dir. Cary Joji Fukunaga

Best Screenplay
Eran Creevy for "Shifty"

Best Cinematography
Christophe Beaucarne for "Mr. Nobody"

Silver Audience Award

"The Cove" dir. Louie Psihoyos

Jameson Music Award
Krister Linder for the music to "Metropia"

Best Short Film
"Logorama" dir. Francois Alaux Herve de Crecy and Ludovic Houplain

Telia Film Award
"Miss Kicki" dir. Hakon Liu

Fipresci International Film Critics Prize for Best Film
"Sin Nombre" dir. Cary Joji Fukunaga

Fipresci honorable mention
"Precious" dir. Lee Daniels

1 km film scholarship
"Sharing all" dir. Amanda Kernell

1 km honorable mention
"Den morka on" dir. Jons Mellgren

"Pim, Pam, Pum" dir. Asier Urbieta and Andoni De Carlos