Nonfiction film awards in the works


NEW YORK -- Web-based film distributor, Toronto International Film Festival docu programmer Thom Powers and filmmaker AJ Schnack ("Kurt Cobain: About a Son") are teaming to create the inaugural Nonfiction Filmmaking Awards.

The 12-member nominating committee includes such top film fest execs as South by Southwest's Matt Dentler, Tribeca's David Kwok and Sundance's Cara Mertes. Nominees in eight documentary categories will be announced Jan. 20 at Sundance.

Following votes by hundreds of indie film execs and filmmakers, the awards will be presented March 18 at New York's IFC Center.