Nonprofit 'Young Entertainment Activists' Sets Leadership Board, 2021 Priorities

Young Entertainment Activists
Courtesy of Young Entertainment Activists

Organizer Alexander Mok, with YEA! co-founders Allison Begalman and Jessica Good.

The activist group, made up of young Hollywood professionals, counts 'Transparent' creator Joey Soloway among its advisors.

Young Entertainment Activists (better known as YEA!) has set its leadership board and laid out its 2021 priorities.

The activist group, a community of over 2,000 young Hollywood professionals that counts Transparent creator Joey Soloway among its advisors, has selected 51 members ages 22-38 to its founding junior executive board. The board members come from companies including Netflix, Disney, CBS, ViacomCBS, Paramount, Topple and Skybound, as well as entertainment impact nonprofits like Center for Cultural Power and Storyline Partners.

Together, they'll be putting together a year of high profile events and initiatives, such as the Hollywood Digital Climate Summit, Climate Ambassadors Network and Pipeline Access Initiative. Their aim is to outline the change they hope to create in the industry by giving young professionals the tools, education, and community they need in order to use their positions and platforms to make an impact.

YEA! was co-founded by Allison Begalman and Jessica Good. Begalman is also the co-founder of YEA! Impact, its social impact agency arm. As an activist hub in the entertainment industry, the nonprofit organization raises money and produces action-oriented events and initiatives geared at transforming both the internal makeup of the industry and the world at large. Also among the group's Hollywood advisors: CAA's Ruby Kaye, Higher Ground's Mukta Mohan, CBS All Access/Paramount's Cela Sutton and AMC Network's Rafi Ruthchild.

YEA!'s founding board members include Apple TV staff writer Zenzele Price, Race Forward director of conferences and convenings Leslie Grant Spann, Netflix original dramas assistant Taylor Jett, Compostable LA co-owner Janae Green, Higher Ground editorial assistant Janae Marable, senior program director at Center for Cultural Power Kat Evasco, consultant/producer and former Biden staffer Jaimie Woo, 44 Blue Productions assistant Deborah Ochei, filmmaker/artist Leila Jarman Filmmaker, ViacomCBS social impact coordinator Ruhi Bhalla, Marvel Studios production assistant Tatianna Sims, actor/trainer Quyen Ngo, Storyline Partners program director Sanaz Alesafar, Scale Productions manager of development and production Bryce Fallon, ABC Signature business affairs assistant Beatrice Contreras and writer/director Laura Rivas.

Other board members are creative consultant Briza Covarrubias, independent filmmaker Evelyn Angelica Martinez, writer Maya Dittloff, producer-consultant Ranard Caldwell, actor/activist Spencer Paez, founder and CEO of Walkgood Productions Etienne Maurice, 31st Event Productions EMT and safety coordinator Jamal Spann, Topple Productions coordinator Karley Ferlic, entrepreneur Leah Elizabeth Rucinski, Color Force producer assistant Linda Christina Riedmann, social impact filmmaker and visual artist Tanita Janina Enderes, Wondery development executive Halee Bernard, Paramount Pictures creative executive Meg Lewis, Littleton Road Productions social impact consultant Ioli Filmeridis, Earth Angel founder Emellie O'Brien, producer Emma Tynan, social impact strategist Jennifer Gottesfeld, director and story editor Emily Lyon and Sophia Lewis.

Also among the founding exec board: Green Spark Group sustainability coordinator Lena Welch, line producer and production supervisor Nicole Beaudoin, writer and script coordinator Sarah Sommers, Project X creative executive Rehana Marie Lodge, independent filmmaker Heather Fipps, sensitivity reader and development exec Alex Creswick, producer-writer Elliott Beenk, Skybound Entertainment executive assistant J White, senior manager of live streaming and technology at 100 Thieves Terence Deutsch, Backbeat Management manager Kendall Durkee, Netflix writers’ assistant and co-president of JHRTS Ali Weinstein, Yellowbird Productions creative exec Emma LaChance, YEA! Impact producer and head of community engagement for SIE Society Devon Dansky, YEA! Impact coordinator Sania Irfan, YEA! Impact co-founder and chief of impact Samuel Rubin and Urban Remedy brand marketing Olivia Carroll.