Nora Ephron and HBO’s Sheila Nevins to Receive DGA Honors

Frazer Harrison/Getty Images

Senator Patrick Leahy and IATSE International President Matthew Loeb will also be honored at the October 13 event.

Filmmaker Nora Ephron, HBO President of Documentary Films Sheila Nevins, Senator Patrick Leahy and IATSE International President Matthew Loeb will be honored at the 2011 DGA Honors, the Directors Guild of America announced Friday. The event will take place in New York City on Thursday, October 13, 2011.

The award ceremony, which celebrates individuals who have made significant contributions to American culture through the world of film and television, will also host a special posthumous tribute to pioneering female filmmaker Alice Guy Blaché.  

“2011 marks the 75th anniversary of the Directors Guild of America,” said DGA President Taylor Hackford. “In this anniversary year of celebrating our history and the people who have made an indelible mark on our community, DGA Honors provides a special moment to recognize a handful of people who have uniquely contributed to the betterment of our community by providing opportunity, safeguarding our livelihoods or using entertainment to open a window onto the human experience.”

The Special Directorial Award for Lifetime Achievement will honor filmmaker Blaché in recognition of her career as the first female filmmaker and the first filmmaker to develop narrative filmmaking. Over the span of her career, Blaché (1873-1968) directed, wrote, supervised and/or produced more than 1,000 films of all lengths and genres.  

Ephron, whose directing credits include This Is My Life, Sleepless in Seattle, Mixed Nuts, and Julie & Julia, has also received three Oscar nominations for screenwriting.

As president of HBO Documentary Films, Nevins is responsible for overseeing the development and production of all documentaries for HBO, HBO2 and Cinemax. Nevins has supervised the production of more than 1,000 documentary programs for HBO.  

Senator Leahy, currently serving his seventh term, is being recognized with a DGA Honor for his commitment to safeguarding the content created by DGA members against digital theft and counterfeiting. As chairman of the Senate Judiciary Committee, Senator Leahy has been a leading voice in protecting the nation’s intellectual property and in the enforcement of intellectual property rights.

Loeb is the International President of IATSE (The International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees, Moving Picture Technicians, Artists and Allied Crafts), one of the largest labor unions in the entertainment and related industries with more than 110,000 members in the US and abroad.

Past DGA Honors recipients have included filmmakers Robert Altman, Jonathan Demme, Milos Forman, Curtis Hanson, Spike Lee, Mike Nichols, Arthur Penn, Sydney Pollack and Martin Scorsese, as well as leaders in entertainment, labor and politics such as Creator/Producer Dick Wolf; Robert De Niro; Saturday Night Live producer Lorne Michaels; Sopranos creator David Chase; and Congressman John Conyers, Jr.