Norman Lear, LL Cool J, Gloria Estefan Among 2017 Kennedy Center Honorees

Norman Lear - Ebertfest 2017 - Getty-H 2017
Timothy Hiatt/Getty Images

Lionel Richie and dancer Carmen de Lavallade also will be feted at the Dec. 3 gala, which will air later that month on CBS.

This year's Kennedy Center honorees will include two singers, a television writer, a dancer — and for the first time, a hip-hop artist.

The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts on Thursday announced the recipients of the 2017 Kennedy Center Honors. They are hip-hop artist LL Cool J, singers Gloria Estefan and Lionel Richie, television writer and producer Norman Lear, and dancer Carmen de Lavallade.

It's the 40th year of the awards, which honor people who have influenced American culture through the arts.

The honorees will be celebrated at a Dec. 3 gala, featuring performances and tributes from top entertainers, which will be attended by President Donald Trump and first lady Melania Trump.

The show will be broadcast Dec. 26 on CBS.