O Music Awards Returns for 24-Hour Special 'Live Music Day'

Questlove Performing at BlackBerry Z10 Launch Event  - P 2013
Dave Kotinsky/Getty Images

Questlove Performing at BlackBerry Z10 Launch Event  - P 2013

The livestream will feature performers from across the country, a drum-a-thon and a band competition on June 19.

Viacom's O Music Awards is returning with a 24-hour livestream special to help a band gain fame at "Live Music Day" on June 19.

As presented by MTV, VH1 and CMT, the O Music Awards celebrates digital music and those making an impact on music and counter culture. This year, the award show is launching an opportunity called "Make a Band Famous" on Viacom Music Group's artist platform including Artists.MTV, Artists.VH1, Artists.CMT. Fans and a committee of music curators will help select five emerging musicians to attend this year's show to compete for a chance to play at VMA weekend in August, and be featured on MTV's Artist to Watch, VH1's You Oughta Know or CMT's Listen Up.

PHOTOS: MTV Movie Awards: Selena Gomez, Joss Whedon, Kim Kardashian Hit the Red Carpet

The show will honor performers from across the country as well as digital platforms in several categories including "Digital Genius Award," "Fan Army FTW," "Best Web-Born Artist," "Must Follow Artist on Twitter," "Best Music App," "Too Much Ass for TV," and "Best Artist Instagram."

New categories "Next Big Scene" will recognize emerging genres and music trends and "Most Inspiring Fan Outreach" will look at musicians who are leveraging digital platform in creative ways to reach fans, while "Analog Genius" will honor artists who are using old technology in groundbreaking ways. 

Previous O Music Awards winners have included Bjork (Digital Genius Award), Kanye West (Best Tweet), Nirvana (Best Vintage Viral Video) and Spotify (Most Addictive Social Music Service).

The Roots band leader and dummer ?uestlove will also kick off a 24-hour drum-a-thon, which will serve as "the heartbeat" for the event.

O Music Awards will livestream on June 19 at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT.