AMPAS, ASC Among Engineering Emmy Honorees

Olivia Munn

After relinquishing co-hosting duties on "Attack of the Show" and before joining "The Newsroom," she spent time as a "field journalist."

Olivia Munn hosts ceremony as Kodak is presented the Philo T. Farnsworth Award.

Olivia Munn of HBO’s The Newsroom hosted the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences’ 64th Primetime Emmy Engineering Awards, Wednesday in the Hollywood Ballroom at Loews Hollywood Hotel -- where in her welcome remarks she playfully observed the event was significantly toned down compared with last month’s televised Emmy ceremony.

She shot confetti into the audience and paid tribute to the crowd, made up of members of the engineering community. “That doesn’t mean we don’t love a party and TV recognition,” she enthused. “Without you, we would have HDTV.”

This year, two organizations -- the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences and the American Society of Cinematographers -- were among the recipients of Engineering Emmys.

A first for the 92-year-old ASC, its Emmy was awarded for its “ASC Color Decision List,” a development of the society’s technology committee that is used to communicate consistent color information from a shoot through postproduction—enabling cinematographers to create and maintain as artistic look.

Director of photography Curtis Clark presented the award to ASC president Stephen Lighthill, who after recognizing the work the participants and importance of the development, said he needed to “give it [the Emmy] back to Curtis” -- who is the chair of the technology committee.

AMPAS was recognized for the Academy Color Encoding System (ACES), a standards-based color management architecture designed for the production, mastering and long-term archiving of motion picture and television (non-live broadcast) content.

AMPAS SciTech Council co-chair Ray Feeney accepted the award, thanking the many manufacturers, organizations, and individuals who contributed to the collaborative development.

Also during the evening, Kodak received the Philo. T. Farnsworth Award for its history of contributions to the television industry. Kim Snyder, president and general manager of Kodak's Entertainment Imaging business said the company is “proud to have served the TV community,” citing its legacy from classics such as I Love Lucy to current productions such as Boardwalk Empire.

The Charles F. Jenkins Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Richard Green, the founder, and until recently, the president and CEO of Cable Television Laboratories. Engineering Emmys were also presented to Colorfront for its Colorfront On-Set Dailies; FilmLight for its Truelight On-Set and Baselight Transfer; Dolby for the Dolby PRM-4200 Professional Reference Monitor; Sony Electronics, for the BVM E250 OLED Reference Monitor; Netflix, for streaming of movies and television programs; and Toon Boom Animation for the Toon Boom Storyboard Pro. An engineering plaque was awarded to Adobe for the Adobe Pass Viewer Authentication process.

During the ceremony, the participants also paid tribute to last year’s Charles F. Jenkins Award winner, industry visionary Bob Lambert, who passed away last month. Lambert had been unable to attend the 2011 ceremony, and a clip from his recorded acceptance was played in his memory.