One last time for president Ganis at the Academy


Sid Ganis has been re-elected to his fourth consecutive — and last — term as president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Meeting Tuesday night, the Academy's board of governors also re-elected Robert Rehme, a governor in the executives branch, to the post of first vp.

Other officers for the coming year include new vps Kathleen Kennedy and Hawk Koch, both from the producers branch; executive branch governor Tom Sherak, elected treasurer; and public relations branch governor Cheryl Boone Isaacs, secretary.

Academy board members serve three-year terms, while officers serve one-year terms, with a maximum of four consecutive terms in any one office.

Isaacs previously served a term each as vp and treasurer, Koch served one term as treasurer and Rehme has served in various posts, including president, for a total of 17 terms.

Kennedy and Sherak will serve their first terms as officers. (partialdiff)