Oscar winners elected to AMPAS board

Bigelow, Moore, Coates are first-time members of the board

Oscar winners Kathryn Bigelow, Michael Moore and Anne Coates have been elected to the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences' board of governors.

All three are first-time members of the board. Bigelow became the first woman to win the directing Oscar earlier this year when she picked up her trophy for "The Hurt Locker." Moore won in the documentary feature category for 2002's "Bowling for Columbine." Film editor Coates took home the award for her work on 1962's "Lawrence of Arabia."

Additionally, nine incumbents have been reelected and three other filmmakers will return to the board.

The reelected governors are Curt Behlmer, sound branch; Rosemary Brandenburg, art directors; Richard Edlund, visual effects; Leonard Engelman, makeup artists and hairstylists; Charles Fox, music; Jim Gianopulos, executives; Hawk Koch, producers; Marvin Levy, public relations; and Frank Pierson, writers.

Returning to the board after a hiatus are John Bailey, cinematographers; Ed Begley, Jr., actors; and Jon Bloom, short films and feature animation. Bailey previously served on the board from 1996 to 2002; Begley and Bloom both were governors from 2000 to 2009.

Fourteen of the Academy's 15 branches are represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. Terms are staggered so that each branch elects or reelects one governor each year. The makeup artists and hairstylists branch is represented by a single governor.

Governors who were not up for reelection and who continue on the board are Annette Bening and Tom Hanks, actors; Jim Bissell and Jeffrey Kurland, art directors; Caleb Deschanel and Owen Roizman, cinematographers; Martha Coolidge and Edward Zwick, directors; Rob Epstein and Lynne Littman, documentary; Robert Rehme and Tom Sherak, executives; Donn Cambern and Mark Goldblatt, film editors; Bruce Broughton and Arthur Hamilton, music; Mark Johnson and Kathleen Kennedy, producers; Robert G. Friedman and Sid Ganis, public relations; Bill Kroyer and John Lasseter, short films and feature animation; Don Hall and Kevin O'Connell, sound; Craig Barron and Bill Taylor, visual effects; and James L. Brooks and Phil Robinson, writers.