Oscars: Academy Releases List of 114 Scores in Contention

John Williams

The 86th Academy Awards nominations will be announced Jan. 16.

A total of 114 scores from feature-length films released in 2013 are in contention for nominations in the original score category for the 86th Oscars, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences said Thursday.

The eligible scores (listed in alphabetical order by film title):

"Admission," Stephen Trask, composer

"Ain't Them Bodies Saints," Daniel Hart, composer

"All Is Lost," Alex Ebert, composer

"Alone Yet Not Alone," William Ross, composer

"The Armstrong Lie," David Kahne, composer

"Arthur Newman," Nick Urata, composer

"At Any Price," Dickon Hinchliffe, composer

"Austenland," Ilan Eshkeri, composer

"Before Midnight," Graham Reynolds, composer

"The Best Man Holiday," Stanley Clarke, composer

"The Book Thief," John Williams, composer

"The Butterfly's Dream," Rahman Altin, composer

"The Call," John Debney, composer

"Captain Phillips," Henry Jackman, composer

"Closed Circuit," Joby Talbot, composer

"The Company You Keep," Cliff Martinez, composer

"The Conjuring," Joseph Bishara, composer

"Copperhead," Laurent Eyquem, composer

"The Counselor," Daniel Pemberton, composer

"The Croods," Alan Silvestri, composer

"Despicable Me 2," Heitor Pereira, composer

"Elysium," Ryan Amon, composer

"Ender's Game," Steve Jablonsky, composer

"Enough Said," Marcelo Zarvos, composer

"Epic," Danny Elfman, composer

"Ernest & Celestine," Vincent Courtois, composer

"Escape from Planet Earth," Aaron Zigman, composer

"Escape from Tomorrow," Abel Korzeniowski, composer

"Evil Dead," Roque Banos, composer

"47 Ronin," Ilan Eshkeri, composer

"42," Mark Isham, composer

"Free Birds," Dominic Lewis, composer

"Free China: The Courage to Believe," Tony Chen, composer

"Fruitvale Station," Ludwig Goransson, composer

"G.I. Joe: Retaliation," Henry Jackman, composer

"Gangster Squad," Steve Jablonsky, composer

"Gravity," Steven Price, composer

"The Great Gatsby," Craig Armstrong, composer

"The Hangover Part III," Christophe Beck, composer

"Hansel & Gretel Witch Hunters," Atli Orvarsson, composer

"Haute Cuisine," Gabriel Yared, composer

"Her," William Butler and Owen Pallett, composers

"The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug," Howard Shore, composer

"Hollywood Seagull," Evgeny Shchukin, composer

"Hours," Benjamin Wallfisch, composer

"How Sweet It Is," Matt Dahan, composer

"The Hunger Games: Catching Fire," James Newton Howard, composer

"Identity Thief," Christopher Lennertz, composer

"The Incredible Burt Wonderstone," Lyle Workman, composer

"Insidious: Chapter 2," Joseph Bishara, composer

"Instructions Not Included," Carlo Siliotto, composer

"The Internship," Christophe Beck, composer

"The Invisible Woman," Ilan Eshkeri, composer

"Iron Man 3," Brian Tyler, composer

"Jack the Giant Slayer," John Ottman, composer

"Jobs," John Debney, composer

"Kamasutra 3D," Sreejith Edavana and Saachin Raj Chelory, composers

"Labor Day," Rolfe Kent, composer

"Lee Daniels' The Butler," Rodrigo Leão, composer

"Live at the Foxes Den," Jack Holmes, composer

"Love Is All You Need," Johan Soderqvist, composer

"Mama," Fernando Velazquez, composer

"Man of Steel," Hans Zimmer, composer

"Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom," Alex Heffes, composer

"The Missing Picture," Marc Marder, composer

"Monsters University," Randy Newman, composer

"The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones," Atli Orvarsson, composer

"Mud," David Wingo, composer

"Murph: The Protector," Chris Irwin and Jeff Widenhofer, composers

"Now You See Me," Brian Tyler, composer

"Oblivion," Anthony Gonzalez and Joseph Trapanese, composers

"Oldboy," Roque Banos, composer

"Olympus Has Fallen," Trevor Morris, composer

"Oz The Great and Powerful," Danny Elfman, composer

"Pacific Rim," Ramin Djawadi, composer

"Pain & Gain," Steve Jablonsky, composer

"Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters," Andrew Lockington, composer

"Philomena," Alexandre Desplat, composer

"The Place Beyond the Pines," Mike Patton, composer

"Planes," Mark Mancina, composer

"Prisoners," Johann Johannsson, composer

 "R.I.P.D.," Christophe Beck, composer

"Reaching for the Moon," Marcelo Zarvos, composer

"Romeo & Juliet," Abel Korzeniowski, composer

"Runner Runner," Christophe Beck, composer

"Rush," Hans Zimmer, composer

"Safe Haven," Deborah Lurie, composer

"Salinger," Lorne Balfe, composer

"Saving Mr. Banks," Thomas Newman, composer

"The Secret Life of Walter Mitty," Theodore Shapiro, composer

"Short Term 12," Joel P. West, composer

"Side Effects," Thomas Newman, composer

"The Smurfs 2," Heitor Pereira, composer

"The Spectacular Now," Rob Simonsen, composer

"Star Trek Into Darkness," Michael Giacchino, composer

"Stoker," Clint Mansell, composer

"Thor: The Dark World," Brian Tyler, composer

"Tim's Vermeer," Conrad Pope, composer

"Trance," Rick Smith, composer

"Turbo," Henry Jackman, composer

"12 Years a Slave," Hans Zimmer, composer

"2 Guns," Clinton Shorter, composer

"The Ultimate Life," Mark McKenzie, composer

"Unfinished Song," Laura Rossi, composer

"Wadjda," Max Richter, composer

"Walking With Dinosaurs," Paul Leonard-Morgan, composer

"Warm Bodies," Marco Beltrami and Buck Sanders, composers

"We Steal Secrets: The Story of WikiLeaks," Will Bates, composer

"We're the Millers," Theodore Shapiro and Ludwig Goransson, composers

"What Maisie Knew," Nick Urata, composer

"Why We Ride," Steven Gutheinz, composer

"The Wind Rises," Joe Hisaishi, composer

"Winnie Mandela," Laurent Eyquem, composer

"The Wolverine," Marco Beltrami, composer

To be eligible for nomination, the original score must be a substantial body of music that serves as original dramatic underscoring and must be written specifically for the motion picture by the submitting composer. 

The 86th Academy Awards nominations will be announced live on Thursday, Jan. 16, at 5:30 a.m. PT in the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater. The awards will be handed out Sunday, March 2, at the Dolby Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center and televised live on ABC.