Oscars: David Rubin Returning to Produce Governors Awards

Getty Images
David Rubin

The ceremony, at which honorary Oscars are handed out, will be held Nov. 11.

David Rubin is returning to produce the ninth annual Governors Awards for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, Academy president John Bailey announced today. 

Honorary Awards will be presented to writer-director Charles Burnett, cinematographer Owen Roizman, actor Donald Sutherland and director Agnès Varda at the nontelevised ceremony, which will be held Nov. 11 at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland Center.

“David’s continuing and passionate commitment to the Governors Awards assure us that the evening will be a memorable tribute to this year’s four distinguished filmmakers,” Bailey said.

“I’m thrilled to once again be entrusted with producing this extraordinary event, which manages to be both a stirring awards ceremony and one of the year’s most buoyant celebrations,” said Rubin, who represents the casting directors branch on the board of governors and also produced last year's Governors Awards.