Oscars: 'Night Before' Party Raises $5 Million to Benefit MPTF

Darren Le Gallo, Kristin Davis, Meryl Streep, Viola Davis, Julius Tennon and Amy Adams
Getty Images

Darren Le Gallo, Kristin Davis, Meryl Streep, Viola Davis, Julius Tennon and actor Amy Adams were all smiles.

The exclusive, invitation-only bash on the Fox lot — one of Hollywood's glitziest gatherings of awards season — drew A-listers including Leonardo DiCaprio, Meryl Streep, Matt Damon, Viola Davis, Amy Adams, Octavia Spencer and more.

The annual "Night Before" party raised a total of $5 million on Saturday night to benefit the Motion Picture & Television Fund.

More than $75 million has been raised since the event, the brainchild of DreamWorks Animation CEO Jeffrey Katzenberg, was launched 15 years ago. Funds raised during the party — one of Hollywood's glitziest gatherings — are used to support MPTF, which assists elderly members of the Hollywood community.

Leonardo DiCaprio, George and Amal Clooney, Denzel and Pauletta Washington and Emma Stone were among the members of the 2017 host committee members for this year's event, which was held at Fox Studios.

The 2017 host committee for the party also included Amy Adams and Darren Le Gallo, Casey Affleck, Javier Bardem, Jessica Biel and Justin Timberlake, Kate Capshaw and Steven Spielberg, Tanya Haden Black and Jack Black, Jessica Chastain, Tom Cruise, Luciana and Matt Damon, Viola Davis and Julius Tennon, Chris Evans, Jake Gyllenhaal, Brie Larson, Janelle Monáe, Dev Patel, Natalie Portman, Jada Pinkett Smith and Will Smith, Octavia Spencer, Alicia Vikander, Reese Witherspoon and more.

The event also drew top Hollywood executives like Netflix's Ted Sarandos, Fox's Peter Rice, Warner Bros.' Kevin Tsujihara, Universal's Jeff Shell, NBC Universal's Bonnie Hammer and more.

Other guests at the bash included Jovan Adepo, Riz Ahmed, Malin Akerman, Jessica Alba, Stephen Amell, Dave Annable, Caitriona Balfe, Elizabeth Banks, Kate Beckinsale, Betsy Brandt, Jordana Brewster, Adrien Brody, Yvette Nicole Brown, Erika Christensen, Sacha Baron Cohen, Lily Collins, Dominic Cooper, Laverne Cox, Jackie Cruz, Laura Dern, Nina Dobrev, Mark Duplass, Jay Duplass, Clea Duvall, Ava DuVernay, Nathalie Emmanuel, Isla Fisher, Michael J. Fox, Andrew Garfield, Tony Goldwyn, Beth Grant, Grace Gummer, Tony Hale, Armie Hammer, Evan Handler, Marcia Gay Harden, Josh Hartnett, Salma Hayek, Simon Helberg, Cheryl Hines, Aldis Hodge, Katie Holmes, Vanessa Hudgens, Isabelle Huppert, Brian d'Arcy James, Ken Jeong, January Jones, Keegan-Michael Key, Jaime King, Aja Naomi King, Zoe Kravitz, Nick Kroll, Christine Lahti, Brie Larson, Kenneth Lonergan, Melanie Lynskey, Kelly McCreary, Matthew Morrison, Ruth Negga, Thandie Newton, BJ Novak, Jack O'Connell, Bob Odenkirk, Timothy Olyphant, Chord Overstreet, Teresa Palmer, Jim Parsons, Aaron Paul, Jeff Perry, Freida Pinto, Glen Powell, Zachary Quinto, Retta, Jason Ritter, Anika Noni Rose, Andy Samberg, Jurnee Smollett-Bell, Abigail Spencer, Jeffrey Tambor, Aaron Taylor-Johnson, Juno Temple, Emily VanCamp, Vince Vaughn, Jon Voight, Michaela Watkins, Mykelti Williamson, Alfre Woodard and Bellamy Young.

"It's hard to put into words what the success of the Night Before has meant to MPTF over these past 15 years," said Jeffrey Katzenberg, chairman of the MPTF Foundation. "The event has raised over $75 million to date helping thousands of industry members. In addition to celebrating the artistic achievements of the nominees, the event shines a very bright light on the incredible compassion the Hollywood community extends to each other by supporting the MPTF legacy of Caring For Our Own, a legacy that last year helped thousands in need."

Funds raised during the "Night Before" party are used to support MPTF, which assists elderly members of the Hollywood community by providing social services and financial assistance as well as innovative programs for seniors and those who care for them.

Said Ken Scherer, CEO of the MPTF Foundation: "MPTF is very fortunate to have the support of our incredible presenting sponsors – Target for the past 13 years, L’Oréal for the past 12 years, as well as Chrysler and The Hollywood Reporter for the past 4 years, and Delta Air Lines for the past three years – for making it possible for MPTF to bring the entertainment community together in such an enjoyable and yet meaningful celebration. To each of our sponsors and donors, I want to offer my deepest sense of gratitude for the vital financial support generated by this event."

The Hollywood Reporter returned as one of the presenting sponsors of the event alongside Chrysler, Delta Air Lines, L'Oreal and Target. This marked THR's fourth year as a sponsor of the party.

The invitation-only event takes place every year on the Saturday night before the Oscars. This year, Carmelized Productions by Jon Shook & Vinny Dotolo provided specialty foods for the guests, and Lavazza provided its signature espresso.

Check out photos from this year's event below.