Outfest's Legacy Awards Announce Trio of Recipients

AP Images
Hilary Swank

Armistead Maupin, Hilary Swank and Levi Strauss & Co. will be honored

Outfest has named a trio of honorees for its 10th annual Legacy Awards, selecting Armistead Maupin, Hilary Swank and Levi Strauss & Co., to be doled out on Nov. 12 in Los Angeles.

Maupin is set to receive the Visionary Award for his groundbreaking Tales of the City, which debuted on PBS in 1994, marking a 20-year anniversary. Two-time Oscar-winner Swank will be honored with the Trailblazer Award for her transformative work in the transgender-themed Boys Don't Cry. That 1999 film, which is also celebrating an anniversary, snagged Swank her first best actress Academy Award in 2000.  

Read more Hollywood's 100 Favorite Films

Levi Strauss & Co. has been plucked for the Guardian Award in recognition of its long history of fighting for LGBT equality, its support of same-sex marriage in California and continued advocacy for equality at the federal level.

Downtown L.A. performing arts venue Vibiana will host the event with head chef Neal Fraser overseeing the night's menu.

Outfest is a Los Angeles-based nonprofit that promotes equality through fostering LGBT stories on the screen. The Legacy Awards serve as a fundraiser to support the Outfest UCLA Legacy Project, the largest archive of LGBT moving images in the world. More information on the awards and the organization can be found at Outfest.org. The Legacy Awards are co-presented by Merrill Lynch and Showtime.