Palm Springs fest fetes composer Howard


James Newton Howard will receive the Frederick Loewe Award for Film Composing at the 19th Annual Palm Springs International Film Festival.

His film scores have included Andrew Davis' "The Fugitive," P.J. Hogan's "My Best Friend's Wedding" and M. Night Shyamalan's "The Village," which were all Oscar nominees for best original score. Howard also received three Grammy nominations, for music from Disney's "Dinosaur", M. Night Shyamalan's "Signs" and a song from Michael Hoffman's "One Fine Day."

Howard has been honored with ASCAP's Henry Mancini Award for Lifetime Achievement and now has over 100 films to his credit.

His film scores for 2007 include "The Great Debaters," "Michael Clayton," "Charlie Wilson's War," "The Water Horse: Legend of the Deep," "The Lookout" and "I Am Legend."

Other film scores include M. Night Shyamalan's "The Sixth Sense", and "Unbreakable"; Taylor Hackford's "The Devil's Advocate"; Michael Mann's "Collateral," Christopher Nolan's "Batman Begins" and Edward Zwick's "Blood Diamond."

The award will be presented Jan. 5 at the Festival's annual Awards Gala.