‘Parade’s End’ Tops TV Noms for U.K. Broadcasting Press Guild Awards

FILM: Benedict Cumberbatch

Benedict Cumberbatch (UTA, the U.K.'s Conway van Gelder Grant), star of the BBC's "Sherlock," is joining "August: Osage County," The Weinstein Co.'s adaptation of the play. Meryl Streep and Julia Roberts also star.

“Parade” stars Benedict Cumberbatch and was written by Tom Stoppard.


Tom Stoppard, Benedict Cumberbatch, Rebecca Hall, Sienna Miller, Ben Whishaw, Clare Balding and Grayson Perry are among those shortlisted for top honors in the 39th annual Broadcasting Press Guild Awards, to be presented next month at a lunch in central London.

The BBC2 drama Parade's End - starring Cumberbatch and Hall and written by Stoppard - leads the way with five nominations, including best drama series.

Roger Allam is nominated alongside Cumberbatch as best actor for his role in Parade's End and The Thick of It. They are up against Peter Capaldi (The Thick of It and The Hour) and Ben Whishaw (The Hollow Crown: Richard II and The Hour).

Rebecca Hall is nominated as best actress with Sienna Miller (The Girl), Anna Chancellor (Pramface, The Hour), Olivia Colman (Accused, Twenty Twelve) and Maxine Peake (Silk, Room at the Top).

Parade's End will compete for the best drama series award against Last Tango in Halifax, Line of Duty and Sherlock. And Tom Stoppard is nominated for the Writer's Award alongside John Morton (Twenty Twelve), Sally Wainwright (Last Tango in Halifax, Scott & Bailey) and Steven Moffat (Doctor Who, Sherlock).