Lena Dunham, Louis CK and Lorne Michaels Win Peabody Awards

Getty Images
Lena Dunham, Louis C.K., Lorne Michaels

HBO, ABC News and Univision also were named winners of the prestigious media honor.

The Peabody Awards are showing a little edge.

The University of Georgia announced on Wednesday that both Lena Dunham and Louis CK were among the winners of its prestigious electronic media prize, headlining a group that includes some of the biggest names in news and entertainment. Dunham won for her HBO show Girls, described by the group as a "comedy-drama about the young and the feckless in New York," while Louis CK won for his FX comedy Louie, a "serrated, boundary-testing take on being a single, showbiz dad."

STORY: Fast, Cheap and Indie: The Rise of New York's Next Big Filmmakers

Dunham won two Golden Globes for Girls this year, while CK took home two Emmys for Louie last fall.

The current godfather of New York comedy, SNL's Lorne Michaels, was named the winner of a rare individual Peabody

Other entertainment winners include the TNT cop drama Southland; the BBC series Doctor Who, which won an Institutional Peabody; HBO's election movie Game Change; and ABC Family's Switched at Birth.

VIDEO: Louis C.K. Breaks Down the Teaser for His HBO Special

In the world of journalism, Robin Roberts is being honored for "Robin's Journey," the Good Morning America feature about her battle with cancer; Bryant Gumbel earned a nod for his HBO show Real Sports; 60 Minutes was named a winner for two separate stories; and ABC News is being honored for its coverage of Hurricane Sandy.

CNN won for its coverage of the civil war in Syria, as did NPR.

Among websites, Supreme Court resource SCOTUSBlog was honored.

The Peabody Awards will be handed out in a ceremony in Manhattan on May 20, which will be hosted by CBS Evening News anchor Scott Pelley.