Pedro Almodovar Leads Spanish Goya Nominations

"The Skin I Live In"
Jose Haro

Pedro Almodovar's latest stars Antonio Banderas as a plastic surgeon searching for the man who raped his daughter, played by Elena Anaya.

The Antonio Banderas drama receives 16 nominations for the awards, which take place Feb. 19.

MADRID -- Pedro Almodovar's The Skin I Live In led the pack Tuesday when Spain’s Film Academy announced nominations for the XXVI Goya Awards, snatching nods in 16 of the 28 categories, followed by Enrique Urbizu's thriller No Rest for the Wicked with 14 and Kike Maillo's directorial debut Eva with 12.

The 16 noms end a period of chilly relations between Almodovar and the Spanish academy, which he quit years ago citing irregularities in voting and repeated snubs.

"Pedro will be delighted with the news of so many nominations," Skin producer and Pedro's brother Agustin Almodovar told the Spanish daily El Pais. "The Academy has given us a generous welcome. It's like a big hug."

PHOTOS: THR's Writer Roundtable With Pedro Almodovar, Dustin Lance Black

The director, who rejoined the Academy last year, is en route to Los Angeles to attend Sunday's Golden Globes and was not immediately available for reaction.

Skin will compete with Wicked and Benito Zambrano's drama The Sleeping Voice and Mateo Gil's Blackthorn for the top honor at the Goya ceremony Feb. 19.

The same four films vie for the top director category as well. Woody Allen did not make it into the director category for Midnight in Paris but did get a nomination for best original script.

Antonio BanderasDaniel BruhlLuis Tosar and Jose Coronado face off in the lead actor category.

Salma Hayek received a best actress nomination for her role in Alex de la Iglesia's As Luck Would Have It. She will go against Veronica Echegui for Katmandu: A Mirror In the Sky, Elena Anaya for Skin and Inma Cuesta for Voice.

A list of nominees follows:


The Skin I Live In,  Pedro Almodovar.

No Rest for the Wicked, Enrique Urbizu.

The Sleeping Voice, Benito Zambrano.

Blackthorn,  Mateo Gil.



Pedro Almodovar, The Skin I Live In

Benito Zambrano, The Sleeping Voice.

Enrique Urbizu, No Rest for the Wicked.

Mateo Gil,  Blackthorn.


New Director

Paula Ortiz,  De tu ventana a la mía.

Kike Maillo,  Eva.

Paco Arango, Maktub.

Eduardo Chapero-Jackson, Verbo.


Original Script

Miguel Barros, Blackthorn.

Marti Roca, Sergi Belbel, Cristina Clemente and Aintza Serra, Eva.

Woody Allen, Midnight in Paris.

Enrique Urbizu and Michel Gaztambide, No Rest for the Wicked.


Adapted Script

Angel de la Cruz, Ignacio Ferreras, Paco Roca and Rosanna Cecchini, Wrinkles.

Iciar Bollain, Katmandu.

Pedro Almodovar, The Skin I Live In.

Benito Zambrano and Ignacio del Moral, The Sleeping Voice.


Original Score

Lucio Godoy, Blackthorn.

Evgueni Galperine and Sacha Galperine, Eva.

Alberto Iglesias, The Skin I Live In.

Mario de Benito, No Rest for the Wicked.


Original Song

Debajo del limon, for De tu ventana a la mia.

Nana de la hierbabuena, for La voz dormida.

Nuestra playa eres tu, for Maktub.

Verbo, for Verbo.


Lead Actor

Daniel Bruhl, for Eva.

Antonio Banderas, for The Skin I Live In.

Luis Tosar, for Mientras duermes.

Jose Coronado, for No Rest for the Wicked.


Lead Actress

Veronica Echegui, for Katmandu: un espejo en el cielo.

Elena Anaya, for The Skin I Live In.

Inma Cuesta, for La voz dormida.

Salma Hayek, for As Luck Would Have It.


Supporting Actor

Juan Diego, for 23-F: la película.

Lluis Homar, for Eva.

Juanjo Artero, for No Rest for the Wicked.

Raul Arevalo, for Cousins.


Supporting Actress

Goya Toledo, for Maktub.

Maribel Verdu, for De tu ventana a la mía.

Pilar Lopez de Ayala, for Intruders.

Ana Wagener, for The Sleeping Voice.


New Actor

Jose Mota, for As Luck Would Have It.

Jan Cornet, for The Skin I Live In.

Adrian Lastra, for Cousins.

Marc Clotet, for The Sleeping Voice.

New Actress

Maria Leon, for The Sleeping Voice.

Blanca Suarez, for The Skin I Live In.

Michelle Jener, for No tengas miedo.

Alba Garcia, for Verbo.


Production Design

Andres Santana, for Blackthorn.

Toni Carrizosa, for Eva.

Toni Novella, for The Skin I Live In.

Paloma Molina, for No Rest for the Wicked.



Juan Antonio Ruiz Anchia, for Blackthorn.

Arnau Valls Colomer, for Eva.

Jose Luis Alcaine, for The Skin I Live In.

Unax Mendia, for No Rest for the Wicked.



David Gallart, for Blackthorn.

Elena Ruiz, for Eva.

Jose Salcedo, for The Skin I Live In.

Pablo Blanco, for No Rest for the Wicked.


Artistic Director

Juan Pedro de Gaspar, for Blackthorn.

Laia Colet, for Eva.

Antxon Gomez, for The Skin I Live In.

Anton Laguna, for No Rest for the Wicked.



Clara Bilbao, for Blackthorn.

Paco Delgado, for The Skin I Live In.

Maria Jose Iglesias Garcia, for The Sleeping Voice.

Patricia Monne, for No Rest for the Wicked.


Makeup and Hair

Ana Lopez-Puigcerver and Belen Lopez-Puigcerver, for Blackthorn.

Concha Rodriguez and Jesus Martos, for Eva.

Karmele Soler, David Marti and Manolo Carretero, for The Skin I Live In.

Montse Boqueras, Nacho Diaz and Sergio Perez, for No Rest for the Wicked.



Daniel Fontrodona, Marc Orts and Fabiola Ordoyo, for Blackthorn.

Jordi Rossinyol, Oriol Tarrago and Marc Orts, for Eva.

Ivan Marin, Marc Orts and Pelayo Gutierrez, for The Skin I Live In.

Licio Marcos de Oliveira and Ignacio Royo-Villanova, for No Rest for the Wicked.


Special Effects

Arturo Balseiro and Lluis Castells, for Eva.

Raul Romanillos and David Heras, for Intruders.

Reyes Abades and Eduardo Diaz, for The Skin I Live In.

Raul Romanillos and Chema Remacha, for No Rest for the Wicked.


Animated Feature


Carthago Nova.

Papa, soy una zombi

The Little Wizard.


Documentary Film

30 anos de oscuridad.

El cuaderno de barro.

Escuchando al juez Garzon.



Ibero-American Film

Boleto al paraiso.

Miss Bala.

Un cuento chino.

Violeta se fue a los cielos.


European Film

Jane Eyre.


The Artist.

Un dios salvaje.


Spanish Fiction Short

El barco pirata.

Matar a un nino.

El premio.

Meine Liebe.


Animated Short


Quien aguanta mas

Big Boy.



Documentary Short


Nuevos tempos.

Regreso a Viridiana.

Virgen negra.