'Persepolis' directors take home LFF prize


LONDON -- "Persepolis" helmers Marjane Satrapi and Vincent Paronnaud received the Sutherland Trophy at the closing-night gala of the 51st annual Times BFI London Film Festival on Thursday at London's Odeon Cinema in Leicester Square.

The animated adaptation of Satrapi's graphic novel, which gives a girl's-eye view of Iran's Islamic revolution, was recognized as "most imaginative first feature" screened during the two-week festival. The jury described the "Persepolis" as "an astonishing and courageous film, which captures a universal story with real style and is irreverent, fresh, witty and also heartbreaking."

Director Joanna Hogg was awarded the 10th FIPRESCI International Critics Award for "Unrelated," about a woman who leaves an unhappy marriage, while "The Alfred Dunhill Award" was presented to director Sarah Gavron for Monica Ali's Bangladeshi coming-of-age drama "Brick Lane."

The 12th annual Satyajit Ray Award went to Cristian Nemescu's "California Dreaming (Endless)," while the TCM Short Film Award was handed to "A Bout de Truffe," directed by Tom Tagholm.

The Times BFI London Film Festival Grierson Award was presented to director Andrey Paounov for "The Mosquito Problem and Other Stories."