PGA announces movie noms

'Avatar,' 'Precious,' 'Basterds' among films nominated

Taking its cue from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, the Producers Guild of America revealed 10 films, instead of the traditional five, when it announced its nominees for its top movie award on Tuesday.

The wider field was a boon for sci-fi movies as the lineup includes the mega-grossing "Avatar," the gritty allegory "District 9" and the summer hit "Star Trek."

The other nominees for the Darryl F. Zanuck Producer of the Year Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures are "An Education," "The Hurt Locker," "Inglourious Basterds," "Invictus," "Precious," "Up" and "Up in the Air."

The ethnic-flavored drama "A Serious Man," which made the Broadcast Film Critics Assn.'s list of 10 best picture nominees last month, and the musical "Nine" each failed to make the PGA cut.

Other movies looking for awards love that were shut out included female-centric entertainments "Julie & Julia," "It's Complicated" and "The Blind Side" and specialty fare including "(500) Days of Summer," "A Single Man" and "Crazy Heart."

Pixar/Disney's "Up" was not only nominated for the Zanuck Award. It also picked up a mention in the PGA's animated film category, which was created in 2005. Its competition there is "9," "Coraline," "Fantastic Mr. Fox" and "The Princess and the Frog."

The nominees for documentary film are "Burma VJ," "The Cove," "Sergio" and "Soundtrack for a Revolution."

More awards coverage

Shifting its attention to longform television, which encompasses telefilms and miniseries, the PGA nominated for its David L. Wolper Producer of the Year Award "Georgia O'Keeffe," "Grey Gardens," "Little Dorrit," "Prayers for Bobby," "The Prisoner" and "Taking Chance."

The awards will be presented Jan. 24 at the Hollywood Palladium. In past years, the PGA noms have served as harbingers of eventual Oscar noms for best picture.

The PGA still must determine which producers are eligible for nominations on a number of the films it has selected.

In the motion picture category, the film and producers whose nominees were named Tuesday morning are "Avatar," James Cameron and Jon Landau; "District 9," Carolynne Cunningham and Peter Jackson; "An Education," Finola Dwyer and Amanda Posey; "Inglourious Basterds," Lawrence Bender; "Invictus," Clint Eastwood, Rob Lorenz, Lori McCreary and Mace Neufeld; "Precious," Lee Daniels, Gary Magness and Sarah Siegel-Magness; "Star Trek," J.J. Abrams and Damon Lindelof; and "Up," Jonas Rivera.

For animated film, they are "Princess and the Frog," Peter Del Vecho, and "Up," Rivera.

Nominated for documentary are Lise Lense-Moller for "Burma VJ" and Paula DuPre Pesman and Fisher Stevens for "The Cove."

For longform TV, they are "Grey Gardens," David Coatsworth, Lucy Donnelly, Rachel Horovitz and Michael Sucsy; "Little Dorrit," Lisa Osborne and Anne Pivcevic; "Prayers for Bobby," Stanley M. Brooks, Damian Ganczewski, David Permut, Daniel Sladek and Chris Taaffe; and "Taking Chance," Lori Keith Douglas, Ross Katz, Brad Krevoy and Cathy Wischner-Sola.