PGA feels indie spirit

Noms keen on studio specialty pics

The year of the indie continues, with the PGA Awards on Monday nominating four films from studio specialty divisions and Warner Bros.' modestly budgeted "Michael Clayton."

Joining the George Clooney starrer are the Miramax drama "The Diving Bell and the Butterfly," Fox Searchlight's quirky comedy "Juno" and two Miramax/Paramount Vantage co-productions — the Coen brothers-helmed thriller "No Country for Old Men" and the Daniel Day-Lewis starrer "There Will Be Blood."

In a practice begun last year, the PGA withheld naming any of the producers on the nominated films until the guild completes its arbitration process on producer credits. That's expected to take a week to 10 days, a spokesman said.

Meanwhile, films missing from the PGA's best picture nominations include some that figured prominently in critics kudos and other guild's noms. Perhaps most prominent among those is Focus Features' period drama "Atonement," the Golden Globe winner for best drama, and Paramount Vantage's "Into the Wild."

On the other hand, four films that each were nominated by the PGA, DGA and WGA would seem to be especially well positioned ahead of the Academy Award nominations, set for Jan. 22. Those include "Clayton," "Diving Bell and the Butterfly," "Blood" and "No Country."

In the category of best animated film, the PGA nominated DreamWorks Animation's "Bee Movie," Disney/Pixar's "Ratatouille" and Fox's "The Simpsons Movie." The PGA also released docu and longform TV nominations, after early unveiling other TV noms.

Winners in all categories will be announced at the 19th annual PGA Awards gala set for Feb. 2 at the Beverly Hilton. A complete list of nominees follows.

The Darryl F. Zanuck Producer of the Year Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures

"The Diving Bell and the Butterfly" (Miramax)

"Juno" (Fox Searchlight)

"Michael Clayton" (Warner Bros.)

"No Country for Old Men" (Miramax/Paramount Vantage)

"There Will Be Blood" (Paramount Vantage/Miramax)

Animated theatrical motion picture

"Bee Movie" (DreamWorks Animation)

"Ratatouille" (Disney/Pixar)

"The Simpsons Movie" (20th Century Fox)

Documentary theatrical motion picture

"Body of War" (Phil Donahue Prods./ Mobilus Media)

"Hear and Now" (HBO)

"Pete Seeger: The Power of Song" (Weinstein Co.)

"Sicko" (Weinstein Co.)

"White Light/Black Rain: The Destruction of Hiroshima and Nagasaki" (HBO)

Longform television

"Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee" (HBO)

"The Bronx Is Burning" (ESPN)

"High School Musical 2" (Disney Channel)

"Jane Eyre" (PBS/BBC)

"The Starter Wife" (USA Network)

The Danny Thomas Producer of the Year Award in Episodic Television, Comedy

"Entourage" (HBO)

"Extras" (HBO)

"The Office" (NBC)

"30 Rock" (NBC)

"Ugly Betty" (ABC)

The Norman Felton Producer of the Year Award in Episodic Television, Drama

"Dexter" (Showtime)

"Grey's Anatomy" (ABC)

"Heroes" (NBC)

"House" (Fox)

"Lost" (ABC)

"The Sopranos" (HBO)

Nonfiction television

"Deadliest Catch" (Discovery Channel)

"Extreme Makeover: Home Edition" (ABC)

"Kathy Griffin: My Life on the D-List" (Bravo)

"Planet Earth" (Discovery Channel)

"60 Minutes" (CBS)

Live Entertainment/ competition

"The Amazing Race" (CBS)

"American Idol" (Fox)

"The Colbert Report" (Comedy Central)

"Project Runway" (Bravo)

"Real Time With Bill Maher" (HBO)

PGA honorary awards and recipients

Alan Horn, Milestone Award

Kathleen Kennedy and Frank Marshall, David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures

Dick Wolf, Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television

Simon Fuller, Visionary Award

Chad Hurley and Steve Chen, Vanguard Award

"The Great Debaters," the Stanley Kramer Award