PGA to honor 'Precious' producers

Stanley Kramer Award ceremony takes place Jan. 24

The PGA has chosen "Precious: Based on the Novel 'Push' by Sapphire" to receive its 2010 Stanley Kramer Award.

More awards coverage  

The film's producers -- Sarah Siegel-Magness, Gary Magness and director Lee Daniels -- will receive the honor at the 21st annual PGA awards ceremony Jan. 24 at the Hollywood Palladium.

Established in 2002, the Kramer Award rewards material that "illuminates provocative social issues in an accessible and elevating fashion."

"We are thrilled to receive the Stanley Kramer Award and feel honored that the Producers Guild of America has chosen to recognize 'Precious' out of this year's diverse film slate," the film's producers said. "It is an honor to join the ranks of past recipients and we feel blessed that the film has been so well received."