Pink to Receive BMI President's Award for Songwriting

AP Images

Past recipients include Maroon 5 singer Adam Levine, Taylor Swift, Willie Nelson and Pitbull, among others.

BMI has announced that the 2015 recipient of the organization's President's Award will be pop singer/songwriter Pink.

“Pink is an extraordinary songwriter whose mastery of craft and passionate artistry has transformed a generation of Pop and Rock music culture around the world, ” said BMI Vice President Barbara Cane. “She has captivated music lovers with her unforgettable, emotional and edgy magnificence of song, voice and performance.”

The award, which commemorates "outstanding achievement in songwriting and global impact on pop culture and the entertainment industry," has been awarded to Adam Levine, Taylor Swift, Willie Nelson, Pitbull, Emilio and Gloria Estefan and Juanes in the past.

This article first appeared on