Poitier, Roberts among Common Wealth winners


WILMINGTON, Del. -- Actor Sidney Poitier, a former president of Poland, a network journalist and an author are this year's Common Wealth Awards winners, according to a trust committee member.

The awards, created by a Delaware businessman, recognize people who demonstrate both excellence in their fields and serve as an inspiration to others, said Connie Bond Stuart, a committee member and PNC Bank Delaware president.

The 28th annual Common Wealth Awards will go to:

--Poitier, 80, winner of an Oscar for "Lilies of the Field" in 1963, director of several films and author of two books.

--Former Polish President Aleksander Kwasniewski, who co-founded Poland's Social Democratic Party and helped the country move from communism to democracy.

--Cokie Roberts, a veteran journalist on National Public Radio and ABC News.

--Author Ian McEwan, a winner of the Booker Prize, one of Britain's highest awards for writers.

Recipients will be honored at an April 28 dinner. Each gets $50,000.

Past winners include 11 Nobel laureates, such as Archbishop Desmond Tutu, Henry Kissinger and Toni Morrison.
comments powered by Disqus