Posey, Spurlock join Sundance juries

Festival for independent films kicks off Jan. 21

Author Russell Banks, producer Jason Kliot, writer/director Karyn Kusama, actress Parker Posey and cinematography Robert Yeoman will make up the jury for the U.S. dramatic film competition at the Sundance Film Festival, which runs from Jan. 21-31 in Park City, Utah.

For the U.S. documentary competition, the jury will consist of filmmakers Greg Barker, Dayna Goldfine, Morgan Spurlock and Ondi Timoner and Wired senior editor Nancy Miller.

The world cinema documentary competition jurors are filmmaker Jennifer Baichwal, PBS "NewsHour" senior correspondent Jeffrey Brown, and Asako Fujioka, director of the Yamagata International Documentary Film Festival.

The world cinema dramatic competition jurors are writer/director Alison Maclean, Entertainment Weekly film critic Lisa Schwarzbaum and producer and Palomar Pictures principal Joni Sighvatsson.

More Sundance coverage  
Judging the shorts competition are filmmaker Sterlin Harjo, author and screenwriter Brent Hoff and producer Christine Vachon.

The awards will be announced on Jan. 30 at the Sundance Film Festival Awards Ceremony, to be hosted by David Hyde Pierce at the Park City Racquet Club. The Short Film Awards will also be named earlier at a ceremony on Jan. 26 at Park City's Jupiter Bowl.
comments powered by Disqus