Producer Gale Anne Hurd and Composer David Newman Join Academy Board

Gale Ann Hurd Headshot 2011
Frederick M. Brown/Getty Images

BEVERLY HILLS, CA - MARCH 04:  Executive Producer Gale Ann Hurd attends "The Walking Dead" screening during PaleyFest 2011 at the Saban Theater on March 4, 2011 in Beverly Hills, California.

Cinematographer Richard P. Crudo and film editor Michael Tronick also elected.

The Terminator producer Gale Anne Hurd, composer David Newman, cinematographer Richard P. Crudo and film editor Michael Tronick have been elected to the board of governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. They are all first-time members of the board.

In addition seven current governors have been reelected. They are Craig Barron of the visual effects branch; Annette Bening, actors; Don Hall, sound; Jeffrey Kurland, art directors; John Lasseter, short films and feature animation; Robert Rehme, executives; and Phil Robinson, writers.

Three other board members who previously served terms are returning after a hiatus. They are Michael Apted, documentary; Cheryl Boone Isaacs, public relations; and Paul Mazursky, directors. 

Fourteen of the Academy’s 15 branches are represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. Terms are staggered so that each branch elects or reelects one governor each year. The makeup artists and hairstylists branch is represented by a single governor.

Governors who were not up for reelection and who continue on the board are Ed Begley, Jr. and Tom Hanks, actors; Jim Bissell and Rosemary Brandenburg, art directors; John Bailey and Caleb Deschanel, cinematographers; Kathryn Bigelow and Edward Zwick, directors; Rob Epstein and Michael Moore, documentary; Jim Gianopulos and Tom Sherak, executives; Anne V. Coates and Mark Goldblatt, film editors; Leonard Engelman, makeup artists and hairstylists; Bruce Broughton and Charles Fox, music; Mark Johnson and Hawk Koch, producers; Rob Friedman and Marvin Levy, public relations; Jon Bloom and Bill Kroyer, short films and feature animation; Curt Behlmer and Kevin O’Connell, sound; Richard Edlund and Bill Taylor, visual effects; and James L. Brooks and Frank Pierson, writers.