Producer to receive Woodstock award

Ted Hope to be awarded Trailblazer Award at N.Y. fest

Producer Ted Hope will be honored with the Trailblazer Award at the 10th anniversary Woodstock Film Festival, which runs from Sept. 30-Oct. 4 in Woodstock, N.Y. Together with partner Anne Carey, he runs the New York production company This is that.

Oren Moverman's "The Messenger" will serve as the fest's opening night film. Miquel Arteta's "Youth in Revolt" has been tapped as the Centerpiece Film.

Other films have have been scheduled include Barbara Kopple's "Woodstock: Now and Then," Jonathan Demme's "Neil Young Trunk Show," Tom DiCillio's "When You're Strange: A Film about the Doors," Rebecca Miller's "The Private Lives of Pippa Lee," Grant Heslov's "The Men Who Stare at Goats," Richard Linklater's "Me and Orson Welles" and Haim Tabakmaan's "Eyes Wide Open."

The Trailblazer Award honors creative and innovative pioneers in the art of the business of independent film. Hope will receive it at the WFF Gala Awards Ceremony on Oct. 3.

Meira Blaustein, co-founder and director of WFF, said that Hope is "one of the most talented, influential and supportive producers in independent film, and undoubtedly one of the bravest when it comes to standing up for the filmmakers vision -- he truly embodies the innovative spirit of the Trailblazer award."

This is that has had a hand in such films as Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu's "21 Grams, Michel Gondry and Charlie Kaufman's "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind" and Kip Williams' "The Door in the Floor." More recent titles include Greg Mottola's "Adventureland," Tamara Jenkin's "The Savages" and Alan Ball's "Towelhead."

Hope's other credits include "American Splendor," "The Ice Storm," "The Wedding Banquet," "The Brothers McMullen" and "Happiness."