Producers Guild Awards to Honor Universal's Donna Langley

Getty Images
Donna Langley

The exec will receive the Milestone Award at the Jan. 20 ceremony.

Universal Pictures chairman Donna Langley will be honored with the Producers Guild of America's 2018 Milestone Award, the group said Wednesday.

The award, which recognizes those who have made historic contributions to the entertainment industry and counts Clint Eastwood and Steven Spielberg as past recipients, will be given to Langley at the 29th annual Producers Guild Awards, wjhich are set to be held Jan. 20 at the Beverly Hilton. 

"Donna Langley is essentially the epitome of a 21 century studio executive. Not only has she built Universal into a powerhouse through her stewardship of tentpole event films, she’s built her studio into a home for smart, talented, passionate filmmakers — especially for those who color outside the lines or don’t fit into Hollywood’s usual boxes," Producers Guild Awards chairs Donald De Line and Amy Pascal said in a statement. "Donna has redefined the job for a rising generation of creative execs, and we’re privileged to honor her at the Producers Guild Awards.”

Langley has been Universal's chairman since 2013, having overseen some of the studio's biggest hits, including the Fast & Furious series, the Bourne films, Pitch Perfect and the Fifty Shades franchise. This year has been an especially big year for Universal, as it passed $4 billion at the worldwide box office, becoming the first studio to do so in 2017. 

The Hollywood Reporter named Langley the 2015 Executive of the Year, along with an annual feature in the Top 100 Women in Entertainment issue. She started at Universal in 2001 as senior vp production, moving over from New Line Cinema, and moved up the ranks from president of production to co-chairman to chairman. 

"The Producers Guild of America champions what is lifeblood to so many of us — visionary storytelling, fearless creativity and global filmmaking,” said Langley. “On behalf of the brilliant team at Universal, I want to thank its members for recognizing our work with this prestigious honor.”