Producers Guild to Honor 'Get Out' With Stanley Kramer Award

Get Out Still 10 - Publicity - H 2017
Courtesy of Universal Pictures

The ceremony will take place Jan. 20 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Get Out has been tapped as the recipient of the 2018 Stanley Kramer Award at the upcoming Producers Guild of America Awards.

The honor, established in 2002, recognizes "a production, producer or other individuals whose achievement or contribution illuminates and raises public awareness of important social issues." It is named for the legendary producer-director behind such classics as Inherit the Wind, On the Beach, The Defiant Ones and Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner.

Get Out, written and directed by Jordan Peele, tells the story of Chris (Daniel Kaluuya) and his girlfriend, Rose (Allison Williams), who go on a weekend getaway upstate to meet Rose's parents, Missy (Catherine Keener) and Dean (Bradley Whitford). At first, Chris reads the family's overly accommodating behavior as nervous attempts to deal with their daughter's interracial relationship, but as the weekend progresses, a series of increasingly disturbing discoveries leads him to a truth that he could have never imagined.

Get Out was named one of the top 10 films of 2017 by the National Board of Review and the American Film Institute and earned a Golden Globe nomination for best picture, musical or comedy. It also has a near-perfect 99 percent critics' rating on Rotten Tomatoes.

The pic's producing team consists of Sean McKittrick, Jason Blum, Edward H. Hamm Jr. and Peele.

"The electrifying response to Get Out demonstrates that the power of motion pictures to crystallize and reflect our collective social anxieties remains stronger than ever," PGA Awards chairs Donald De Line and Amy Pascal said Wednesday in a joint statement. "It's hard to imagine two more different sensibilities approaching the problem of race in America than Stanley Kramer and Jordan Peele, but despite the different paths their stories take, their power springs from the same outrage, fearlessness and passion."

The Stanley Kramer Award recipient is chosen by a seven-person committee appointed by the guild's board of directors and operates independently of the Producers Guild Awards committee and the PGA staff.

Previous recipients of the award include The Hunting Ground, An Inconvenient Truth, Hotel Rwanda, In America, Antwone Fisher, Precious, In the Land of Blood and Honey, Bully, Fruitvale Station, The Normal Heart and Loving.

The 29th annual Producers Guild Awards will be handed out Saturday, Jan. 20, at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

As previously announced, Ava DuVernay will receive the Visionary Award, Ryan Murphy will be presented the Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television, Charles Roven will receive the David. O. Selznick Achievement Award and Universal Pictures chairman Donna Langley will be presented the Milestone Award.