Producers guild noms stick with indie trend


The year of the indie continues, with the PGA Awards nominating four films from studio specialty divisions and Warner Bros.' modestly budgeted "Michael Clayton."

Joining the George Clooney starrer are Miramax drama "The Diving Bell and the Butterfly," Fox Searchlight's quirky comedy "Juno" and a pair of Miramax/Paramount Vantage co-productions -- the Coen brothers-helmed thriller "No Country for Old Men" and the Daniel Day-Lewis starrer "There Will Be Blood."

In a practice begun last year, the PGA withheld naming any of the producers on the nominated films until the guild completes its arbitration process on producer credits. That's expected to take a week to 10 days, a spokesman said.

Meanwhile, films missing from the PGA best pic noms include some that figured prominently in early noms from other kudos groups, such as Universal's period drama "Atonement" and Par Vantage's "Into the Wild."

In the category of best animated pic, the PGA nominated DreamWorks Animation's "Bee Movie," Disney/Pixar's "Ratatouille" and Fox's "The Simpsons Movie." The PGA also released docu and TV noms.

Winners in all categories will be announced at the 19th annual PGA Awards gala, set for Feb. 2 at the Beverly Hilton.

A complete list of nominees follows:

The Darryl F. Zanuck Producer of the Year Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures

"The Diving Bell and the Butterfly" (Miramax)
"Juno" (Fox Searchlight)
"Michael Clayton" (Warner Bros.)
"No Country for Old Men" (Miramax/Paramount Vantage)
"There Will Be Blood" (Paramount Vantage/Miramax)

Animated theatrical motion picture

"Bee Movie" (DreamWorks Animation)
"Ratatouille" (Walt Disney Pictures/Pixar Animation)
"The Simpsons Movie" (20th Century Fox)

Documentary theatrical motion picture

"Body of War" (Phil Donahue Productions/Mobilus Media)
"Hear and Now" (HBO)
"Pete Seeger: The Power of Song" (The Weinstein Co.)
"Sicko" (The Weinstein Co.)
"White Light/Black Rain: The Destruction of Hiroshima and Nagasaki" (HBO)

Longform television

"Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee" (HBO)
"The Bronx Is Burning" (ESPN)
"High School Musical 2" (The Disney Channel)
"Jane Eyre" (PBS/BBC)
"The Starter Wife" (USA Network)

Previously announced television nominations:

The Danny Thomas Producer of the Year Award in Episodic Television -- Comedy
"Entourage" (HBO)
"Extras" (HBO)
"The Office" (NBC)
"30 Rock" (NBC)
"Ugly Betty" (ABC)

The Norman Felton Producer of the Year Award in Episodic Television -- Drama

"Dexter" (Showtime)
"Grey's Anatomy" (ABC)
"Heroes" (NBC)
"House" (Fox)
"Lost" (ABC)
"The Sopranos" (HBO)

Nonfiction television
"Deadliest Catch" (Discovery Channel)
"Extreme Makeover: Home Edition" (ABC)
"Kathy Griffin: My Life on the D-List" (Bravo)
"Planet Earth" (Discovery Channel)
"60 Minutes" (CBS)

Live entertainment/competition
"The Amazing Race" (CBS)
"American Idol" (Fox)
"The Colbert Report" (Comedy Central)
"Project Runway" (Bravo)
"Real Time With Bill Maher" (HBO)

PGA honorary awards and recipients:
Milestone Award: Alan Horn
David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures: Kathleen Kennedy and Frank Marshall
Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television: Dick Wolf
Visionary Award: Simon Fuller
Vanguard Award: YouTube founders Chad Hurley and Steve Chen
The Stanley Kramer Award: "The Great Debaters"