Publicists honor James Cameron

Sigourney Weaver presents award at annual luncheon

James Cameron was feted at the 47th annual Publicists Awards luncheon Friday at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel as his "Avatar" star Sigourney Weaver presented him with the Motion Picture Showmanship Award.

"This year we honor one of the most innovative, daring and creative talents in the industry who has broken new ground in the cinema arts with all of his films," Weaver said.

Shane Brennan, executive producer of CBS' "NCIS" and "NCIS: Los Angeles," received the Television Showmanship Award, which was presented by "NCIS" actor Michael Weatherly and "NCIS: Los Angeles" star LL Cool J.

Disney Studios chairman Rich Ross was on hand to present a Lifetime Achievement Award to director-producer-screenwriter Robert Zemeckis.

Actress Doris Roberts paid tribute to Ernest Borgnine, a veteran of 204 movies, who received a Special Award of Merit.

Publicist Stan Rosenfield received the Les Mason Award, presented to him by his client George Clooney.

The Press Award went to Anthony Breznican of USA Today, and the International Media Award to Chris Hewitt of the U.K.

More awards coverage  
The Bob Yeager Award, which honors a publicist for community service, was presented to Pamela Golum of the Lippin Group; the Maxwell Weinberg Publicists Showmanship Award for Television was presented to the publicists who worked on the CBS series, "NCIS" and "NCIS: Los Angeles"; The Maxwell Weinberg

The award for best movie campaign went to the Warners publicists who handled the campaign for "The Hangover"; and the Excellence in Unit Still Photography Award went to Andrew Cooper.

"Extra!" host Mario Lopez emceed the ceremonies for the guild, part of the International Cinematographers Guild, Local 600.