Pulitzer Winner 'The Flick' Sets Off-Broadway Return

Joan Marcus
Louisa Krause and Aaron Clifton Moten in 'The Flick'

Annie Baker's play set in a run-down Massachusetts movie house will move with its original cast to the Barrow Street Theatre in May, produced by Scott Rudin

Playwright Annie Baker's winner of the 2014 Pulitzer Prize for Drama, The Flick, has set dates for its return off-Broadway engagement at the Barrow Street Theatre.

Set in a shabby Massachusetts single-screen movie theater — a 35 mm holdout resisting the transition to digital projection — the unconventional work over the course of its three-hour running time examines the fears and foibles, the suspended lives and abandoned hopes of the underpaid employees as they clean the auditorium between screenings. 

Read more Annie Baker's 'The Flick' Wins 2014 Pulitzer Prize for Drama

The play's tragicomic observations about the hunger for authenticity, finding depth and poignancy in the most seemingly mundane exchanges, made it one of the high points of the 2012-13 New York theater season. The production landed on the annual top 10 lists of a number of publications, including The Hollywood Reporter.

In addition to the Pulitzer, The Flick also won Baker a 2013 Obie Award for Playwriting.

Originally staged at Playwrights Horizons, the production will transfer intact, reuniting director Sam Gold with the entire original cast, which includes Alex Hanna, Louisa Krause, Matthew Maher and Aaron Clifton Moten

Scott Rudin is producing the commercial run, which begins previews on May 7 at Barrow Street, with official opening set for May 28.