Gotham Awards: Rachel Weisz, Jon Kamen to Be Honored

Rachel Weisz and  Jon Kamen-Split- Publicity-H 2018
Courtesy of Subject (2)

The independent film awards, seen as the official start of Oscar season, will be handed out on Nov. 26.

Oscar winning actress Rachel Weisz and RadicalMedia founder Jon Kamen will receive the actress and industry tributes, respectively, at this year's Gotham Independent Film Awards.

Weisz will next be seen in Fox Searchlight's awards contender The Favourite, directed by Yorgos Lanthimos, and co-starring Olivia Colman and Emma Stone. The royal period drama focuses on the palace political struggles between Queen Anne (Colman) and her two confidantes Sarah Churchill (Weisz) and Abigail Hill (Stone).

Chairman and CEO of RadicalMedia, Kamen has created one of the leading generators of premium content in TV, film, graphic and interactive design, with more than 150 credits. His vision has been the force behind Oscar, Emmy, Grammy and Peabody-winning and -nominated titles including The Fog of War, What Happened Miss Simone?, The Fourth Estate and Mad Men.

Additional tribute recipients will be announced in the coming weeks. Past Gotham Awards honorees include Vice President Al Gore, Jason Blum, Nicole Kidman, Ed Lachman, Oliver Stone, Amy Adams, Ethan Hawke, Arnon Milchan, Robert Redford, Helen Mirren, Todd Haynes, Steve Golin, Matt Damon, Natalie Portman, Charlize Theron, Kate Winslet, Bennett Miller, Richard Linklater, Spike Lee, David O. Russell, Ted Sarandos, Jeff Skoll, Tom Rothman and James Schamus.

The Gotham Awards traditionally marks the official start of Oscar season, recognizing the best in independent film. Recent previous winners have included Oscar nominees and winners Call Me By Your Name, Moonlight, Spotlight, Birdman, Boyhood, Citizenfour, Inside Llewyn Davis, The Act of Killing, Moonrise Kingdom, Beasts of the Southern Wild, Beginners, The Tree of Life, Winter’s Bone and The Hurt Locker.

The 2018 Gotham Awards will be handed out on Monday, Nov. 26, at New York's Cipriani Wall Street. Nominations will be announced on Oct. 18.