Rashida Jones to Get SAG-AFTRA Foundation Honor

Rashida Jones - Publicity - P 2017
Courtesy of the SAG-AFTRA Foundation

Past recipients of the Actors Inspiration Award include Leonardo DiCaprio, Kerry Washington and Sofia Vergara.

Rashida Jones is set to receive the Actors Inspiration Award on Monday, the SAG-AFTRA Foundation announced Tuesday.

The honor, which recognizes artists who give back to the community by championing worthy philanthropic causes, will be awarded to the Emmy-nominated actress at the foundation’s 8th Annual Los Angeles Golf Classic, an event benefiting SAG-AFTRA's emergency assistance and children’s literacy programs.

“We are excited to present Rashida Jones with our Actors Inspiration Award and honor her tireless dedication for tackling issues around global poverty, improving health outcomes for people battling AIDS and cancer, and for using her artistic platform to support several important charities, including our very own children’s literacy initiative Storyline Online,” said SAG-AFTRA Foundation president JoBeth Williams. “Rashida’s generosity and commitment to giving back to the global community is an inspiration, and we are proud and grateful she will accept this honor.”

The Parks and Recreation alum currently stars on and executive produces TBS' Angie Tribeca, and is also executive producing TNT's Claws, a dramedy about a nail salon turned money-laundering front which is set to premiere this summer. Jones also served as co-writer on the first episode of Netflix’s third season of Black Mirror, for which she was nominated for an NAACP Image Award.

Her other philanthropic efforts include working with International Rescue Committee, serving on the board and as a celebrity ambassador for Peace First, and supporting Oceana in its mission to protect and restore the world’s oceans. She also supports several other important charities including Amnesty International, the Elton John AIDS Foundation and The Trevor Project.

Jones joins past winners Sofia Vergara, Kerry Washington and Leonardo DiCaprio, who were also recognized for their own philanthropic work.