Un Certain Regard Announces Top Prizes (Cannes 2011)

Kim Ki-Duk’s "Arirang" and Andreas Dresen’s "Stopped on Track" share honors.

Kim Ki-Duk’s Arirang and Andreas Dresen’s Stopped on Track shared the top prize of the Un Certain Regard selection at this year’s Festival de Cannes.

Emir Kusturica and his jury gave a Special Jury Prize toAndrey Zvyagintsev’s Elena and the award for Best Director to Mohammad Rasoulof for Au Revoir.

The Un Certain Regard selection screened 21 films from 22 directors hailing from 19 different countries. Kusturica’s jury also featured Elodie Bouchez, Peter Bradshaw, Geoffrey Gilmore and Daniela Michel.

The festival’s main competition prizes will be announced at the closing ceremony in Cannes on Sunday.