Renee Zellweger, Yu Nan join Berlin jury

With Spanish producer Jose Maria Morales

COLOGNE, Germany -- Oscar winner Renee Zellweger, Chinese actress Yu Nan ("Tuya's Marriage") and Spanish producer Jose Maria Morales ("The Milk of Sorrow," "Lost Embrace") have joined the jury of the 2010 Berlin International Film Festival, headed by jury president Werner Herzog.

Also on this year's Golden Bear jury is Italian director Francesca Comencini -- whose most recent drama, "White Space," bowed in competition last year in Venice; German actress Cornelia Froboess -- famous for her role in Rainer Werner Fassbinder's "Veronika Voss"; and Somalian writer Nuruddie Farah, winner of Germany's Neustadt international prize for literature.

With the exception of writer Farah, everyone in the 2010 jury is a Berlin Festival veteran. "The Milk of Sorrow," (2009) "Tuya's Marriage" (2006) and "Veonika Voss" (1982), were all Golden Bear winners. Zellweger came to Berlin for the 2003 festival opener "Chicago" as well as 2004's curtain raiser "Cold Mountain," for the role that later won her an Academy Award. Comencini's "I Like to Wok" bowed in Berlin's Panorama sidebar in 2004 and Herzog made his debut in Berlin in 1968 with "Signs of Life," taking home a Silver Bear for best first feature.

More Sundance coverage  
The international jury will pick the winners of the Golden and Silver Bears as well as Berlin's Alfred Bauer prize, named after the Berlin festival founder and given to a film that "broadens the horizons of the art of filmmaking."

The 60th Berlin International Film Festival kicks off Feb.11. The jury will announce this year's winners Feb. 20.
comments powered by Disqus