Rita Moreno, Laverne Cox and Weinstein Co. to Receive Outfest Legacy Awards

Rita Moreno Getty H 2016
Paul Archuleta/FilmMagic

Each will be honored during the LGBT-focused organization's gala on Oct. 22 in Los Angeles.

Rita Moreno, Laverne Cox and The Weinstein Co. have been tapped to received honors at Outfest's 2017 Legacy Awards. The LGBT nonprofit's awards ceremony will take place at Vibiana in Los Angeles on Oct. 22 to celebrate the importance of LGBT stories onscreen.

Rita Moreno, who has achieved EGOT status (Emmy, Grammy, Oscar and Tony winner), will receive the James Schamus Ally Award for her role in One Day at a Time. The Netflix original, produced by Norman Lear, is a Cuban-American reinterpretation of his hit family sitcom One Day at a Time. Moreno plays the matriarch of the family, whose daughter is a former army vet raising two single kids and dealing with PTSD.

Cox will be honored with the trailblazer award for breaking barriers on Orange is the New Black as the first trans woman of color to have a leading role on a mainstream scripted television show.

The Weinstein Co. will be recognized with the Corporate Trailblazer Award for their depiction of the LGBT community in films including The Imitation Game, Carol, 3 Generations and A Single Man. Led by Harvey and Bob Weinstein, the company has received 22 Oscars.

"This year's honorees have made it their life's work to knock down stereotypes and barriers, and to advocate for a better, more inclusive world,” said Outfest executive director Christopher Racster in a statement. “With a career spanning an Oscar win for West Side Story to working with fellow luminary Norman Lear on One Day at a Time, Rita Moreno has defied studio-system expectations for Latinas and, in the process, spoken out for opportunities for all who are under-represented."

Racster added: "Laverne Cox shattered Hollywood and the limitations of gendered casting through her trailblazing efforts and acting acumen. And over the years, no one more than Harvey Weinstein has made the case that movies and television matter, thanks to their power of reflecting lives and stories that allow humanity to rise above fears and prejudices."

Previous recipients include Jill Soloway, Tom Hanks, Hilary Swank, Lee Daniels, Sean Hayes and Roland Emmerich.